Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-11-2016, 09:54 PM   #1

RV Issue - Pretty Sure it's the Fuel Pump

Okay. We had an issue today, which I am led to believe is a fuel pump problem. First, let me start by saying we have a 1999 Fleetwood Flair 32-foot RV. I believe it's a Chevy Chassis. We are only 6 months into RV ownership. I have some experience and knowledge with car/truck engines, but not very much.

Normally, when we start up the RV, I have to pump a little gas to get it going. It doesn't just fire right up and sometimes I have to try 2-3 times to get it running.

We drove over 200 miles without issue yesterday and another 200 today before the issue happened. We stopped at a grocery store and turned off the coach. After shopping, I tried to start it back up and it did everything but start. The battery is fine and it made all the normal engine noises except turning over.

Due to the age of the coach and the amount we had driven (through the hills of NY) I felt like there was a chance we were out of fuel or very low on fuel. We've never let the coach get under a half-tank and when we fill it all the way, it never goes all the way to full, so I don't completely trust the gauge.

Anyway, we walked to AutoZone, got a 5-gallon gas can, filled it about 4 gallons full and carried it back to the coach. After putting gas in, we got the same result....engine wouldn't turn over. This led me to start searching for anything that might help.