Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 02:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Stubborn's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lou,Ky
Posts: 111
I have a Question for anyone on the forum about ac monitors. I've seen plug in meters and digital plug in monitors that you plug in to any rv circuit to monitor incoming voltage. My question is doesn't this just monitor that particular circuit and not give a true reading of the total rv??? Does anyone know where to purchase a good reasonibaly priced meter to check incoming voltage?
__________________

__________________
2003 Mountain Aire/W22 - DIY front and rear trac bars - DIY CAI - Wester Tune - 3 small dogs - Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stubborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2006, 02:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Stubborn's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lou,Ky
Posts: 111
I have a Question for anyone on the forum about ac monitors. I've seen plug in meters and digital plug in monitors that you plug in to any rv circuit to monitor incoming voltage. My question is doesn't this just monitor that particular circuit and not give a true reading of the total rv??? Does anyone know where to purchase a good reasonibaly priced meter to check incoming voltage?
__________________

__________________
2003 Mountain Aire/W22 - DIY front and rear trac bars - DIY CAI - Wester Tune - 3 small dogs - Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stubborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 04:36 PM   #3
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
If the circuit being monitored doesn't have a large load on it that creates a voltage drop in the cabling between the load and panel box, the voltage monitored should be virtually the same as at the panel.

Test this by plugging the monitor into various outlets inside the rig and then plug it into the CG post. If lower inside by a large amount there is a voltage drop across the circuit which may be a connection with high resistance or undersized wiring.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 06:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Paulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: No. CA
Posts: 405
The 120 volt circuits in an RV are wired in parallel and voltage in parallel circuits is basically the same in each branch circuit.

As Hitchiker mentioned, a heavy load on a branch can cause a voltage drop in that branch and cause a lower reading. Plug the meter into a couple of other receptacles if you suspect this.

Usually digital voltmeters are the more accurate.
__________________
Paulin
Paulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 05:14 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Joe-K's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 1,828
Another option you can consider is one of the Surge and Voltage protection devices such as the Progressive Dynamics Surge Protector Both the 30 amp and 50 amp version (which I have) have a remote display panel that displays incoming voltage to the RV as well as all the possible errors that the unit protects from.

Since the remote panel is connected to the actual device by a long cord, you can put it anywhere you want in the RV and can glance at it to see the incoming voltage. In addition to being able to see the voltage when you're there, you'll also be comfortable knowing the device will shut down the power if the voltage becomes to high, or to low for your rig.
__________________
Joe & Shelly, Justin, Tyler, Alyssa | Butler PA
2008 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QRP|Cummins 425|Honda CRV
Joe-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 05:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
GStream40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Navarre, Ohio
Posts: 262
Stubborn,

You are correct that on a 50 amp service you can have one side of the feed a lower voltage since the 50 amp is actually two separate 110 volt feeds.

I have seen on our Progressive EMS where the voltage on one feed can be 5 volts or more lower than the other leg.

That is one of the reasons we purchased and installed the Progressive EMS. It monitors the voltage, amps, and many other things. NO I am not associated with them, but just a happy customer.

The unit costs appox $300 for either the potable unit or the hardwired unit.
You can check them out here: Progressive EMS

I purchased the PT50, then I cut the cord on the coach and installed a plug so that I can keep the unit in the compartment at all times. It helps to keep it that way! Also, If when purchase a different coach we can take it with us.

Ron
__________________
Gulf Stream RV Owners Forum www.gsowners.com

GStream40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 08:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Stubborn's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lou,Ky
Posts: 111
I have just purchased a hardwired Surge Guard that is almost the same thing minus the read out. There are a number of LED display ac 500v voltmeters on E-bay for anywhere from $9 to $20. Couldn't a person just wire into the input side of the Surge Guard to a place inside the coach to monitor voltage from the pedistal???
__________________
2003 Mountain Aire/W22 - DIY front and rear trac bars - DIY CAI - Wester Tune - 3 small dogs - Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stubborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:24 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
GStream40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Navarre, Ohio
Posts: 262
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Stubborn:
I have just purchased a hardwired Surge Guard that is almost the same thing minus the read out. There are a number of LED display ac 500v voltmeters on E-bay for anywhere from $9 to $20. Couldn't a person just wire into the input side of the Surge Guard to a place inside the coach to monitor voltage from the pedistal??? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, you could but you would either need two or a switch to flip between the two legs on a 50 amp feed to view the voltage one each leg.

The Progressive EMS automatically displays the voltage on each circuit.

Ron
__________________

__________________
Gulf Stream RV Owners Forum www.gsowners.com

GStream40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent electrical problem - no mirror power or camera power born2camp Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 07-14-2008 04:45 PM
power monitor panel Jim Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 09-04-2007 06:28 PM
Tank Monitor panel power jimandsue60 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 05-19-2006 04:31 PM
No Power Mirror, radio, temp, power window, and Jacks. RVDriver Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 08-02-2005 11:20 AM
Power Line Monitor (PLM-30) info needed Scooter RV Systems & Appliances 3 03-13-2005 06:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.