Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2005, 10:43 AM   #1
TJM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 36
This summer we plan to go to some places without much or any local tv service. I know our motorhome (a 2004 Itasca Sunrise) comes 'satellite hookup ready'; but we do not have the money to purchase a dish for the roof. How do we go about hooking up a satellite receiver and cable to put the dish on a tripod on the ground?
__________________

__________________
TJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-05-2005, 10:43 AM   #2
TJM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 36
This summer we plan to go to some places without much or any local tv service. I know our motorhome (a 2004 Itasca Sunrise) comes 'satellite hookup ready'; but we do not have the money to purchase a dish for the roof. How do we go about hooking up a satellite receiver and cable to put the dish on a tripod on the ground?
__________________

__________________
TJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 11:25 AM   #3
Member
 
tbussche's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 72
TJM, I use a tripod to mount my sat dish on our motorhome. I just attach the coax from the dish to the cable tv input connection that Newmar has on their motorhomes. My connection is located in the same compartment as my electric and telephone connection. You should have this same type of connection in your motorhome also.

Inside your coach, use the cable input as your dish input to your sat receiver.

Hope this answers your questions.
__________________
Tom and Leah
2011 Phaeton 40 QBH
2011 Jeep Liberty Limited 4X4
tbussche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 12:00 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,900
TJM,

Your Sunrise has a coax cable in the basement electrical compartment that is intended for cable TV hookups. You can do one of two things. You can either use this cable for satellite TV or you can string a new one for SATV.

If you use the one that's there you'll have to do some switching on the other end. As it is, it goes to the cable TV input on the video input selector switch by your VCR. This takes standard RF signals and routes them to your TVs and the VCR. You would have to disconnect it and reconnect it to your SATV receiver or else you could hook up an A/B switch to send it to the SATV reciever or the CATV input on the video selector. Then you just flip the switch, depending upon what kind of signal you have hooked up to the other end of the line.

If you don't want to do this, you can just string a second coax cable from the basement up to the satellite receiver. That's what I did on my 2003 Suncruiser. Then you don't have to worry about flipping switches or goofing anything up.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 04:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN,USA
Posts: 651
I might suggest that you could sign up for the service at your residence. Ifyou do so, you can get the receiver or receivers (depending on the deal) and a dish installed for free. Use one of the receivers when you go on the road. the wiring for a dish was explained previously. You can get a dish either from a dealer or on Ebay for as little as $25. The tripod or mounting you may choose is up to you and your pocketbook.
__________________
2004 Itasca Sunrise 36', Workhorse
2003 Suzuki XL7
Dsouthw524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
which satellite dish? cannon man Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 04-24-2008 02:37 PM
Best Satellite Dish footdoc Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 08-24-2007 01:48 PM
satellite dish itsrip Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 09-18-2006 05:45 PM
Satellite Dish Hardy iRV2.com General Discussion 26 03-31-2005 01:03 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.