Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 08-25-2014, 11:18 PM   #1
Post Seeking advice on what RV to get!

Hello, all. I'm new to iRV2 and favorably impressed with the people and ideas I see represented here.

I'm a single woman in advanced middle age (you don't honestly expect me to say "elderly," do you?) who has had a tiny RV for some years, a 1992 Sportsmobile on a Ford E250 chassis, regular length (she's 17' 7" long). Her name is Maybelline. She and I have made numerous trips in the 600-700-mile range, last year going across the country and back.

I'd like to become a full-timer together with my 3 cats as long as my purse, health, and mobility permit.

My goal is to visit and stay in areas near scenic mountain wildernesses, while the weather permits. I'm not big on beaches and deserts; I live in California, which has lots of both items! So my traveling/staying will involve winding mountain roads and fairly high elevations (up to 10,000' or more).

Where there are mountains, there I want to be, especially in California's many lovely ranges.

I've been considering the small Class A Winnebago Via 25P and 25T but am also attracted to the much smaller, Class B Roadtrek SS Ideal and E Trek -- ideally, I'd combine them to have the Ideal's slide-out with the E Trek's solar system, plus a composting toilet in whatever unit I get.

The Mercedes Sprinter chassis with its diesel engine seems a very sturdy, reliable, and relatively good-mileage basis for the new-to-me, almost certainly used otherwise, RV. I plan to tow a tiny car like a Smart car.