Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2011, 06:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
fxdave's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: jacksonville fl
Posts: 400
Send a message via Skype™ to fxdave
should I or shouldnt I

well i bought a breaker box last year to plug the rv in at home but never hooked it up instead ive just been using an extension cord for lights ect when ever i go some where i always start an run gensets anyways so im trying to decide if i really need that 50 amp box ? it will be a 165 ft run by the time i run it to the fuse box so i just dont know to do it or not will need new breakers ect a couple a hundred more to finish it im just undecided ? your thoughts plse
__________________

__________________
97 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 275 Cat powered
fxdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2011, 06:23 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 22,324
Blog Entries: 1
You already seem to be leaning towards "shouldn't" by the tone of your post. If it were me, unless I was planning on using more of my appliances while at home or setting it up as a guest suite, I wouldn't bother.

Lori-
__________________

__________________
Lori & Dave - FMA #3415 | FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 36Z & 2014 Honda CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
NLOVNIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
You might want to price out properly sized cable for that length of run. I think you'll need at least 4ga and it can be VERY expensive. I investigated doing the same thing with a 100' run not long ago and changed my plans.

Good luck...

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,284
if I were you, I would just keep the extention cord and use the gen. when necessary.
__________________
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
Are you running an extension cord 165 feet?
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,614
If what you have has been working for you then possibly stay with what you have. Copper wire is mighty expensive these days but what isn't? Well I guess you'll just have to decide.
__________________
Steve & Sally / HiTee & Hudson Our Little Poms / Heidi & Houston Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:20 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
One way to save a few buck and still retain nearly full functionality of your coach would be to connect your box to two 30 amp legs instead of two 50 amp legs. You'll still have 60 amps available for the coach but might get away with a lighter gague cable. This is what my current plans are for installing coach power at my FIL's place next summer.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
fxdave's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: jacksonville fl
Posts: 400
Send a message via Skype™ to fxdave
ive been running a 100 ft cord out of a 20 amp breaker i mainly doit to keep the batteries up an its been working good ! i bought the box last year thinking it would be better but i never got to it ! seeing this fit my needs ! i figure its another 200 to 250 for the wire an conduit breakers ect and really i guess you need a permit to do it correctly i know we can do it im just thinking do i really need too ? also ricko i was going to run mobile home service wire its about a buck a foot its also buriable i was going to use conduit so i could pull it out if i decided to move
__________________
97 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 275 Cat powered
fxdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:30 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickO View Post
One way to save a few buck and still retain nearly full functionality of your coach would be to connect your box to two 30 amp legs instead of two 50 amp legs. You'll still have 60 amps available for the coach but might get away with a lighter gague cable. This is what my current plans are for installing coach power at my FIL's place next summer.

Rick
Running that far you would have to take voltage drop into consideration. Therefore a larger gage conductor is required.
__________________
Steve & Sally / HiTee & Hudson Our Little Poms / Heidi & Houston Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 08:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
As RickO suggests, I wouldn't do the 50 amp thing either. I wouldn't even do the twin 30's he suggests. If the extension cord plan has been working well or at least OK for you, I'd go with just 30 amp service. Maybe even 20? That's all I ever use. Just me though...
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 08:45 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve N Sal View Post
Running that far you would have to take voltage drop into consideration. Therefore a larger gage conductor is required.
Very true. The cable needs to be properly sized no matter what approach is taken. My point is that properly sized 30 amp cable should be less expensive than properly sized 50 amp cable.

As for sticking with the extension cord, if things aren't broken, don't fix them. If you'd like to be able to run appliances or maybe use the rig as a guest house... that's a different story. The reason I'm going to install power at my FIL's house is because we spend at least a month there each summer and I need the AC in Minnesota in the summer!

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 08:53 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
I think the extension cord is okay if its heavy enough. For 20 amp service with 100 foot run you should use 10 gauge wire.
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 09:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
ronspradley's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,628
As has been said here on this forum, "if it ain't broke, fix it until it is"............

if an extension cord is working then stick with it. You can run generator for A/C when needed for a long time cheaper than 170' of heavy buried cable.................ronspradley
__________________
1993 Gulfstream Sun Voyager DP 30'
200 HP Cummins B5.9, 4sp Allison AT542
Toad 1998 Honda CRV, 2006 Honda CRV
Life's too short to drink cheap beer.
ronspradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:40 PM   #14
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
Have you checked your AC voltage in the rig?
You may very well be starving things for power right now.

I use a heavy duty (30 amp) extension cord to plug into a 20 amp circuit. At 20 amps draw (indicated on my ems panel) a voltmeter stuck in an a/c outlet on the rig shows 106 volts. At the outlet in the garage shows 121.
__________________

__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.