Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-24-2012, 02:30 PM   #1

SIMBA won't run except with battery boost

I have a 2004 Safari Simba (36DBD) with the Workhorse Chassis and the 8.1L Engine. It was in storage while I had a knee replacement and connected to 110V shore power to keep the batteries charged. The coach batteries stayed charged fine, but the chassis battery did not. (It has always worked fine up until this point). Anyway, I can get the motorhome started by using the battery boost, but as soon as I let off the battery boost button the engine dies. I have charged the chassis battery and checked what fuses I could find in the manual that looked like they could possibly be relevant. (primarily the ALT/START fuse and the INST/IGN fuses.) They are all fine. One other piece to the puzzle that may be totally irrelevant, but prior to this issue, the generator would not start and I was planning on taking it in to have it checked. Now all of the sudden it starts fine but now I have this issue of not being able to start or keep the motorhome running with engaging the battery boost switch. Anyone have any ideas? THANKS in advance!

Alan
kfalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!