Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2010, 11:41 AM   #1
Member
 
J. Ingram's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 44
Thermostat

I have a 35' winnebago sightseer. The thermostat in the living room that controls the heat and a/c does not have power to it. This happened when I first bought it and the repairman said I had a loose wire. I didn't ask where it was located and now it seems to have happened again. I have checked all the places I can think of. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where to look? I would appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
J. Ingram is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-21-2010, 05:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Catch and Release's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Woodlands Texas
Posts: 93
Check the fuse?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Ingram View Post
I have a 35' winnebago sightseer. The thermostat in the living room that controls the heat and a/c does not have power to it. This happened when I first bought it and the repairman said I had a loose wire. I didn't ask where it was located and now it seems to have happened again. I have checked all the places I can think of. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where to look? I would appreciate it.
Many thermostats have a fuse on the circuit board.
__________________

__________________
Retired, Twice!
I do nothing and I do it very well!
Catch and Release is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 04:41 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
The air conditioner unit is powered and the T'stat wiring pickes up power from there. Be sure all control wiring has good connections. Check the wiring at the unit for 12 volt dc to controls and 120 vac for operating motor and compressor.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 04:55 PM   #4
Member
 
J. Ingram's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 44
T-Stat

I checked the fuse and it is o.k. There is no power to the board. Are you talking about the 12v power coming from the air conditioner itself. I don't understand where it gets power.
__________________
J. Ingram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 05:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 4,719
You don't indicate what year your Sightseer is, but the RVP thermostats are known to fail/go dead. That would be my first guess as to what the problem is. I have replaced mine once, and know other owners who have replaced theirs several times.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '05 Honda Odyssey toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 05:50 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
The 12 vdc is sent to the T'stsat from the air conditioner unit.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo-Therm Thermostat Replacement Problem RonWSl MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 10-20-2010 02:49 PM
Heat/AC Thermostat Thermometer Reads 00 pgeddes RV Systems & Appliances 2 04-25-2010 05:34 AM
Meridian Thermostat mrschwarz Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 04-05-2010 10:49 PM
Thermostat issue stevelindsey RV Systems & Appliances 2 10-04-2009 07:31 AM
RVP (Winnebago) thermostat interface with Onan EC30 rnabors Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-23-2007 01:41 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.