Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2013, 04:04 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olivehurst, CA
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by John How View Post
I'm ready to have my DC wires made up. It seems like I have read to keep the pos & neg wire approximately the same length but now I cannot find that reference. Is there any need to do that or can I just have them each made to fit?
Make each a short as necessary. There is no benefit to having them the same length as each other.
__________________

__________________
Winnebeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-18-2013, 08:10 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
Spinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by John How View Post
I'm ready to have my DC wires made up. It seems like I have read to keep the pos & neg wire approximately the same length but now I cannot find that reference. Is there any need to do that or can I just have them each made to fit?
You need to base your voltage drop or ampacity on the longer of the two.
__________________

__________________
Spinner & Gang
2000 MADP ISC350 2003 Jeep Liberty toad
"Working towards the next vacation!"
Spinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:25 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 116
The welding cable is an excellent choice for the DC side, it has very fine strands and therefore greater ampacity....... JB
__________________
pivotdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 09:26 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
John How's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Auburn, Ca
Posts: 238
I'm using 2/0 welding cable and I think the longest run, the positive side, is 52" including the 7" fuse block. That wire is definitely big but still nicely flexible. I have everything I need for the DC side except the fuse which is on order and most everything for the AC side except the 20amp breaker I will use to come out of the main AC box. The big challenge now is to find access to the AC routes forward and aft as well as up and down. I'll dig into that tomorrow.
Thanks for all your help so far and I'm sure I'm not done asking questions.
__________________
2005 Winnebego Sightseer 34A Honda Civic - Toad
John How is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:43 AM   #61
Senior Member
 
DAN L's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by John How View Post
I'm ready to have my DC wires made up. It seems like I have read to keep the pos & neg wire approximately the same length but now I cannot find that reference. Is there any need to do that or can I just have them each made to fit?
this is probably the reference you are thinking about.

SmartGauge Electronics - Interconnecting multiple batteries to form one larger bank
__________________
01 WINNEBAGO 35U W20.8.1L SW Wa, Hi. Good Sam, SKP. AMSOIL fluids. BANKS ecm program. SCAN GAUGE II w/ Ally temp. 2 LIFELINE GPL-6CT AGM Batts on their sides. TST tptts. K&N panel air filter. AERO mufflers. TAYLOR plug wires. ULTRA POWER track bar. KONI fsd shocks, toad '14 smart car
DAN L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 04:34 PM   #62
Senior Member
 
John How's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Auburn, Ca
Posts: 238
Yesterday I mounted the inverter and got the DC wires in place, however they are not connected to the batteries yet. I'm still waiting for the 200amp fuse to arrive. So I started looking at the AC side, in particular trying to figure out how to route the wires. AC comes into the MH and the breaker panel at the left rear of the coach. I want to power a circuit that feeds an outlet at the rear TV and and outlet at the front overhead TV. Also I will run a separate circuit to the kitchen. I started trying to trace the original wiring, what a pain. My original plan was to leave to original stuff in place but run new wiring to each device I wanted to power. After checking things out though I think it will be much easier to just tie into the existing circuit wher it leach the original distribution panel. Correct me if I'm wrong but I think this is ok as long as the connection is made inside an electrical box. This way, all I have to do is route an AC line from the original distribution box to provide AC input to the inverter and route an AC line from the sub panel (will be located right next to the inverter) back splice into the original TV circuit. Does this sound like an acceptable plan?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-392027985.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	323.0 KB
ID:	48121  
__________________
2005 Winnebego Sightseer 34A Honda Civic - Toad
John How is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:17 PM   #63
Senior Member
 
Spinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 292
When I get around to doing mine, that is what I planned to do.
__________________
Spinner & Gang
2000 MADP ISC350 2003 Jeep Liberty toad
"Working towards the next vacation!"
Spinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:41 PM   #64
Senior Member
 
John How's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Auburn, Ca
Posts: 238
Well the latest challenge is well, challenging.... Trying to run the AC wiring to and from the breaker box and inverter. The wiring leaves the breaker box in the rear bedroom and runs behind the cabinetry in the bedroom. Then into the bathroom and possibly behind the tub..... In front of the bathroom is the living room slide but I cannot see where the wiring goes when it enters the bathroom. It is clearly romex when it leaves the load center but I'm not seeing any romex up front. Does it need to be in the house or can it be under the house in the area of the frame/chassis?
Any ideas about routing the 120v wiring. I will do some more snooping tomorrow.
__________________
2005 Winnebego Sightseer 34A Honda Civic - Toad
John How is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:06 PM   #65
Senior Member
 
Mossy cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: LONGVIEW TEXAS
Posts: 389
My uncle installed a 30 amp service in his tool box. It's so handy. I wish I had my truck rigged with one.
__________________
Mossy cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:32 PM   #66
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
I wouldn't even dream of routing new AC wiring through the rig. I would run it under the rig using underground wire or use some sort of conduit.... and probably both.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:41 PM   #67
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
I wouldn't even dream of routing new AC wiring through the rig. I would run it under the rig using underground wire or use some sort of conduit.... and probably both.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:54 PM   #68
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,713
Because our MH was wired with an inverter by the manufacturer we have 120V wall lighting throughout which provides a lot more light than typical 12V RV fixtures. In the past this meant substantial power consumption, but now we have replaced our 60 watt bulbs with 13.5 watt LED's so we get a large light output with very little power use.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:40 PM   #69
Senior Member
 
John How's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Auburn, Ca
Posts: 238
Well, big disappointment this weekend. I got the inverter installed, double checked all the wiring. I had everything done but was waiting for the 200 amp dc fuse to arrive. It did and I installed it and started the magnum checkout procedure. Step 1, measure battery voltage looking for something between 10.5 and 14 volts, got 12.8 so I'm good. Step 2, turn on the inverter with no loads attached and hopefully get 120 volts, no, I get 11.8 volts. I do get a blinking green light that is supposed to indicate that it is inverting. Double check wiring, still looks good but I undo all AC connections at the inverter and turn it on again with only the multimeter attached to the AC output, still just 11.8 volts. There are circuit breakers on the AC side both input and output but I'm unsure whether they are no or off, I see no indication. Anyway I stopped and did not go any further and have not applied an AC input to test the charge section, guess I'll call Magnum first thing Monday morning. Anybody have a suggestion?
__________________
2005 Winnebego Sightseer 34A Honda Civic - Toad
John How is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:58 PM   #70
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,713
I get the sense that you don't have a remote panel. I've always found it much easier to control my old Xantrex and the Magnum with the remote.
__________________

__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.