Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2016, 04:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southern Kentucky
Posts: 14
Transfer switch problem

Went to plug in my new to me coach today power runs fine on the gen but shore side contacter will not ingagechecked power in 115 on both sides so I figure bad contacter. Replaced contacter same problem I am trying to just run chargers and fridge am wondering if 20 amp wall plug does not have enough juice to lock in the contacter? Any other ideas I am about out of ideas. Green light is lit on transfer switch circut board on gen nothing when on shore cord HELP
__________________

__________________
Boat wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-30-2016, 05:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,039
Do you know if you have a surge protector, which may also have checks for polarity, neutral, and hertz.

I have a hard wired HW50C Progressive that does the checks and if anything is wrong it won't let power pass.

If you don't have a surge protector the transfer switch may be bad.

I plug into a 20 amp plug at home, it is plenty to keep the batteries charged and run refrigerator. If batteries are full I can even run AC to cool the coach down prior to departure.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2016, 05:35 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southern Kentucky
Posts: 14
A surge protector is on the list before the first trip guess the circut board may have taken a dump
__________________
Boat wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2016, 06:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
J. Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Moulton, Alabama
Posts: 183
I think most transfer swithes are hard wired for shore power and only switch when the generator powers up. When mine went out it worked fine on shore power but would not switch to the generator. Not an expert - mine could be different? The 20 amp plug is fine as long as you don't overload it. If you have an EMS with polarity checking, it could be your problem, as mentioned above. House wiring is not always wired correctly.
__________________
Jerry
2016 Gulfstream/Ameri Lite 268BH
/2006 Ford Expedition
J. Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 12:03 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
SuperGewl's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Frank View Post
I think most transfer swithes are hard wired for shore power and only switch when the generator powers up. When mine went out it worked fine on shore power but would not switch to the generator. Not an expert - mine could be different? The 20 amp plug is fine as long as you don't overload it. If you have an EMS with polarity checking, it could be your problem, as mentioned above. House wiring is not always wired correctly.
Actually you have it backwards, most are hardwired for generator because it should always be wired correctly from the manufacture and you have no idea what type of shore power you are going to get. If you start the generator when on shore power they default to the generator.
__________________
Retired Navy Submariner
2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F; 5 Star tuned; 2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk
SuperGewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 05:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7,324
Generator power is priority in transfer switchs but they default to shore power if the generator stops.

My transfer switch is defaulted to shore power, if no power is anywhere. If I plug in to shore power, no switching and nothing changes.

When I start my generator, it runs a timer for 20 to 30 seconds while the generator stabilizes and then transfers to generator power, even when plugged in to shore power.

If my generator is producing power, the MH is using it. That's basically how the all work.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 05:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 635
I agree with twinboat (as always). The DEFAULT for the switch box is shore power, PRIORITY is given to the generator.

If you're not plugged in and the generator is not running then the switch box is set to shore power (the default). When you start the generator the switch box will switch over to the generator, regardless of the status of shore power.

The way a generator guy explained it to me is that there is a spring in the switch box. If no generator power is present then that spring puts the switch box to the shore power side. When power is received from the generator the pressure of the spring is overridden (magnetically I believe, but don't hold me to that) and the switch box moves to the generator side. Lose power from the generator and the spring puts the box to the shore power side, even if there is no shore power plugged in.
__________________
1996 Fleetwood Southwind 34'
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 07:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
J. Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Moulton, Alabama
Posts: 183
I tore my transfer switch apart and tried to fix it. It had a relay that was closed to shore power in the un-energized state. When the relay was energized with 120 VDC it switched to generator power. The generator supplied the 120 VDC through a circuit board that was fried. The circuit board also had a timer that allowed the generator to line out for about 30 seconds before it switched. You would not want to allow the generator to send power to anything until the engine was running smoothly and good steady power was being produced. So I think all transfer switches must be built this way. I replaced mine with an updated model made by Intellitec for $75. So I would say, if the generator is sending power to the MH, the transfer switch is probably okay.
__________________
Jerry
2016 Gulfstream/Ameri Lite 268BH
/2006 Ford Expedition
J. Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 07:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 4,496
When the points get burned/ pitted from switching with heavy loads on, they will stick. (Always shut the heavy loads down before changing the power source). I had one that would not switch to show power sometimes after running the genny. The cure was a couple of sharp blows with my fist or a rubber mallet. I would hear the loud click when it switched over.
__________________
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 07:31 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dr4Film's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,210
There is a difference between Default and Priority.

Most RV transfer switches will give PRIORITY to the generator meaning that if you are hooked to shore power BUT have the generator running the transfer switch will ALWAYS give priority to the generator and transfer from shore power thereby disconnecting it.

Whereas when there is nothing powered up or hooked up to the coach the transfer switch will be sitting idle in the DEFAULT position which is shore power.

I know of one transfer switch called an ESCO ES50M-65N which uses 120 VAC coils to activate the contactors that has both the shore power and generator power contactors in their open positions until it recognizes which one it needs to switch to. However, even this transfer switch gives PRIORITY to the generator over the shore power. This model of transfer switch tends to emit a hum at times due to using 120 VAC coils whereas other transfer switches that use 12 VDC to power the coils do not hum.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
2002 Monaco Windsor PBT 40Ft. (R HOME) - 30Ft. 2006 Pace Trailer (R JUNK). Trailer Has 06 VUE (R TOWD) 04 Victory Alen Ness Edition (R RYDE). Full-Timer for 14 Yr's BUT now a Part-Timer. Cummins ISC-350 With Banks Power Pack and Upgraded PRXB PacBrake.
We are at our Winter Home in Flagler Beach FL
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 05:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Apache Junction, Az
Posts: 458
get a meter and measure -
__________________
Dale&Susan, 08 Alfa Gold, DaGirlsRv,
08 Jeep Liberty_1600W Solar_660 AmpHr
gatorcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 05:10 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southern Kentucky
Posts: 14
Update on the transfer switch problem contacted the manufacturer (Esco) yesterday their tech department was very helpful talked me thru the test procedure turns out the board is bad they are shipping me a replacement for 39 bucks they were great to deal with
__________________

__________________
Boat wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch, transfer switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Switch Automatic Transfer Switch rptipp Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 06-19-2016 11:55 AM
Power Transfer Switch will not switch...... Rook RV Systems & Appliances 11 11-14-2015 07:22 PM
Transfer switch takes minutes to switch after starting genny erkme73 Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 8 08-12-2012 06:24 PM
50 amp automatic transfer switch, power switch dutch99 Newmar Owner's Forum 16 08-08-2011 08:13 AM
Automatic Transfer Switch (Power Switch) Ragman National RV Owner's Forum 2 07-18-2011 09:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.