Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2009, 07:35 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 17
Trouble starting fridge

HI I HAVE TROUBLE STARTING MY FRIDGE. i select the mode gas
and i here this clicking sound it cycles this way for a half dozen be for you
can her the propane ingnite. than fridge starts running on propane
but with in short time you look at mode screen it has kicked back to electric
so you hit mode button again to propane. finially it stays in propane mode while cooling. but i have to go thu this cycleing back and fourth everytime we get ready to use fridge what causes this???
__________________

__________________
greyhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2009, 07:59 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
If the MH is in storage for awhile and you're shutting off the propane, the gas lines tend to fill up with air which must be purged out before the fridge will fire up again. Our rangetop is located not too far from our fridge (from the front of the RV where the propane bottles are located, the order working rearward is bottles, fridge, range). It makes it a lot easier to light the fridge if I'll open a burner on the rangetop and light it first - the burner uses a lot more gas, purges the lines faster and is easy to verify by the flame pattern when a good supply of gas gets to it. Once I have propane at the rangetop, the fridge lights within a cycle or two.

Rusty
__________________

__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:05 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 17
thank you for that info will try that !!!!!!!! greyhawk
__________________
greyhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Punta Gorda, Fl.
Posts: 578
Before I take off on a trip, I always start the stove first, for just a few seconds. Then the fridge starts right up.
Tom
__________________
Tom, Pat and Buster (the Boston terrier)

2004 DSDP 3807, 370HP Spartan
tmitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:27 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
justimagination's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Monroe, Ga USA
Posts: 708
If your Fridge has AUTO button, push it in, the Fridge will select what it needs, whether ELECTRIC or GAS. You must be plugged into shore power for the ELECTRIC to even come on. If your unit is not LEVEL, the FRIDGE will not work correctly. Good Luck,
David G.
__________________
_____________________________________________
USAF 1959-1963/ JFK Innaguration parade 1961,
1997 Fleetwood Southwind 37Y, 460 ENGINE on FORD chassis, Power Platform with Tag Axle.
justimagination is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Savage, MD
Posts: 233
Agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyJC View Post
It makes it a lot easier to light the fridge if I'll open a burner on the rangetop and light it first - the burner uses a lot more gas, purges the lines faster and is easy to verify by the flame pattern when a good supply of gas gets to it. Once I have propane at the rangetop, the fridge lights within a cycle or two.

Rusty
Excellent idea!

Darn, I thought we this was our patent. It is the ONLY way we can get our fridge to stay lit. No matter how many times we re-start the fridge, it won't stay on unless the gas lines from the tank have been completely purged. It took 4 or 5 months trial and error to get the system down.
__________________
Bill N8HDW & Nancy N8HDV
2005 Sea Breeze 8341 on W-22 Chassis
2008 Saturn Vue I-4
Blue Ribbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 03:19 AM   #7
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
In auto mode, the refrigerator will default to electric mode if 120 vac is present from shore power or generator. They usually do not put this receptacle on an inverter. If you want to use the gas mode you must take it off automatic or it will switch to electric when it is available.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:37 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
One other thing you have to hold the MODE button down to force it into LP mode.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 09:44 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Mine did about the same thing I cleaned the burner and now it works fine (had lots of soot in the burner)
__________________

__________________
herbtrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Fridge rocket19682 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 05-11-2009 07:51 PM
Trouble starting Generator Fly'n Paws Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 06-03-2008 10:54 PM
Kit Camper Projects - Project #3, Fridge Cooling Fans RedneckExpress Vintage RV's 3 03-09-2008 04:19 PM
Fridge Fan Project - Interior & Exterior Cooling (Pictures - UPDATED) RedneckExpress iRV2.com General Discussion 13 09-11-2006 08:07 AM
How to reset Dometic fridge? Audrey & John Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 5 05-20-2006 12:22 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.