Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2008, 09:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 33
I am hoping that one of you more electrical minded people can direct me on how to get our TV to operate when the engine is running. It works fine other than when we start the motor so I am guessing that some type of a safety shut-off switch has been wired into the system somewhere. We have two daughters ages 4 and 7 and on long trips it makes no sense why they can not watch videos on the TV. Oh yes we of course do have the generator running while we are trying to use the TV while traveling.
Our coach is a 2005 George Boy Landau 34 on a Workhorse with the 8.1 Vortec. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Dennis
__________________

__________________
dcoff12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-01-2008, 09:51 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 33
I am hoping that one of you more electrical minded people can direct me on how to get our TV to operate when the engine is running. It works fine other than when we start the motor so I am guessing that some type of a safety shut-off switch has been wired into the system somewhere. We have two daughters ages 4 and 7 and on long trips it makes no sense why they can not watch videos on the TV. Oh yes we of course do have the generator running while we are trying to use the TV while traveling.
Our coach is a 2005 George Boy Landau 34 on a Workhorse with the 8.1 Vortec. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Dennis
__________________

__________________
dcoff12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 10:10 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
If you have a front-mounted TV, it is shut off with the engine running since having a TV visible to the driver when the vehicle is in motion is illegal in many states.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 10:30 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 33
Thanks for you reply Rusty

You know I don't think I can see the front mounted TV from the drivers seat but I don't know that for sure. I will have to check this.
So all of the "in-motion" antennas on motorhomes are for TVs other than the front mounted units?
I guess I could carry our small protable TV and strap it into the easy chair across from the couch since it has a built in dvd player. Just a bit much it seems with 2 TVs already installed in the coach.
Thanks again Rusty.

Dennis
__________________
dcoff12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 10:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,383
I don't have a front mount (mine is mid mount and blocked by the slide) but I think this was discussed a long time ago. If my memory is correct someone found that if they moved the plug to the other outlet in the same box the TV would work. If that doesn't solve it what about a short extension to another outlet. Hope this helps.
__________________
Bob Russo
Formerly had 07 Neptune 36PDQ, ISB 325, Allison 2500, Source Trailing Arms and Ride Enhancement Kit, Demco KarKaddy 460SS.
Currently no Motorhome
Nonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 33
Great ideas Bob, I will try both suggestions and hope that one might work.

Thanks for the information.

Dennis
__________________
dcoff12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:18 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Peeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21
Dennis we had the same problem for the first day. Bob is correct. I just unplugged the TV from the one plug in that outlet and there is a second outlet in the same compartment and plugged it in there. Works great. In our Bounder you can get a glimpse of the TV from the driver's seat but not much of one.
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/500/HPIM0290-small.jpg

Peeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 06:32 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 33
Thank you Peeta for responding. I plan to check out all of these options this weekend. It would be great if we had another outlet close by also. Good to know that others have found ways to solve this issue.

Dennis
__________________
dcoff12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
tropical36's Avatar
 
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,589
There is a relay with it's coil in the ignition circuit...it was in an overhead cabinet in my old Pace Arrow....
I by-passed it, probably by just pulling a wire off the coil connection, (logically assuming that the contacts were normally closed)...so it wouldn't have any effect...a simple and easy mod....if memory serves me....it was the 12volt DC only and would still work on 120AC, having said that, there's no reason why the relay conacts can't be in the 120vac circuit feeding that paricular outlet. If you want that outlet always energized, then find the relay and remove it from the circuit.
__________________
07 Revolution LE 40E_1 1/2 Baths_Spartan MM Chassis_06 400HP C9 CAT_ Allison 3000
Dinghy_2010 Jeep Wrangler JKU ISLANDER
1998 36ft. National Tropi-Cal Chevy Model 6350 (SOLD)
tropical36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 10:38 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
My tv plugs into a small device which then plugs into the outlet. The purpose of this device is to keep the tv off while driving. I removed the device and plugged directly into the outlet. Now I can watch tv, talk on the cell phone and drink a coffee while driving down the highway. But of course with two hands on the wheel. DW s hands.

Steve
__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 08:26 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
hamguy's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Posts: 1,806
My TV works nicely while driving. I can't bend back enough to see it but the DW can move back and enjoy the Cooking Channel.
__________________
Wretched excess is just barely enough.

2002 Itasca Suncruiser - WH Chassis - 35U - 2006 Jeep Liberty
hamguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 09:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Crossville,TN USA
Posts: 437
We have an in-motion satalite dome on the motor home and at home we subscribe to Direct T/V. When we go on the road we take one of the direct receivers and in conjunction with the in-motion dome we listen to Country music from coast to coast, which I believe is Sirius. When we pull over for lunch we just change the channel to CNN and catch up on the news. For us it works great, Ken, '04 DSDP....
__________________
Ken Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 11:23 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
I think Directv uses XM, but same thing, just different company and format. Yes, if plugging into another outlet works, thats an easy fix, otherwise the lockout relay would have to be found and disabled.
__________________

__________________
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Running Rich RoadRohrers Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 11 05-29-2009 12:11 PM
Do daylight running lights work? Headlight module? two2go National RV Owner's Forum 13 04-02-2008 04:48 PM
Gen load while engine running mystere900 Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 02-06-2007 08:42 AM
Trouble getting engine to keep running Kahunna Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 12 12-05-2005 05:10 AM
Gen load while engine running Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.