Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2012, 06:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chandler, IN
Posts: 18
What did I do?

Whatever it is, with my luck, I'm sure it is expensive.

We have been doing remodeling on our '95 Gulf Stream Conquest. When we need interior lighting, I have been running the generator and everything has worked well. With the days getting shorter and some work schedule changes, I decided to plug it in to a 30 amp service we had wired for our previous camper. The outlet was done by a licensed electrician. Not long after we started using it with our previous camper, our less than 9 month old Dometic refrigerator went out. The fridge was covered under warranty but the tech said that the "electrical side" of it's wiring was what went out. Additionally, our A/C never would run off of the outlet.

Enough with the background. I unplugged the cord from the generator outlet and plugged it into my outlet. When I went in, the microwave was not lit up letting me know that I didn't have power. I checked the breakers on the camper and found 2 of them had been tripped. I rest the first and moved on to the second. When I reset the second one, a loud bang and even larger electrical flash occurred behind the solid front section just to the left of the breakers. I know very little about electricity and even less about the camper's converter, but I know letting the smoke out is bad.

What do you think I did and where do I start checking?
Thanks for all the help!
__________________

__________________
1995 Gulf Stream Conquest 102
31', 460 EFI, Tag Axle and slide
tdosha is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-08-2012, 06:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JohnFreyja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Anacortes, Wa.
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to JohnFreyja Send a message via MSN to JohnFreyja
It's like an electric motor and they run on smoke. If the smoke leaks out it quits.
__________________

__________________
John
08 Intrigue
2014 Ford Edge
JohnFreyja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Martind4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Marshfield, WI
Posts: 433
I'd check the 30 amp outlet to make sure it wasn't wired as a 240 volt instead of 120 v. If it was wired as a clothes dryer or welder outlet, it could very well be 240.

If the outlet checks out OK, then I'd unplug everything I could from the suspected circuits, reset the breaker and hope it holds. If it stays energized, then I'd start adding each appliance, one at a time. When the circuit breaker trips, you know that's the appliance that needs repair.

My guess is the 30 amp outlet is wired incorrectly.

Good luck.
__________________
Denny, Connie & Shadow (former barn cat made good)
2000 Itasca Horizon, Cat 3126B, Freightliner Chassis
Martind4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:56 PM   #4
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
I'm going to have to agree with Martind4. If you have a volt meter you could set it on AC power and 600 volts. Check the outlet and I'll bet a cold beer that it was wired as 240volts and not as 120volts which is what you need for your RV.
By the way, if you odn't know how to do this call the electrician that installed it and ask him to check it.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chandler, IN
Posts: 18
I will do this. Do you think it fried the converter?
__________________
1995 Gulf Stream Conquest 102
31', 460 EFI, Tag Axle and slide
tdosha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:40 PM   #6
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Probably Unless the breaker interrupted the power
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brockx's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Punta Gorda FL.
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdosha View Post
Whatever it is, with my luck, I'm sure it is expensive.

I decided to plug it in to a 30 amp service we had wired for our previous camper. The outlet was done by a licensed electrician.
Thanks for all the help!

No longer than I have been RV'ing I know 2 people personally that were burned by electricans. You are, I'm afraid, in for some expense.

For anyone else reading this, if you have an electrician do this type work for you explain to him/her it is a 120 not a 240 circuit. Most electricians will look at the plug and confuse it with a dryer plug and wire it 240. If he/she wants to argue send them away.
__________________
Brockx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
chuckinthebus's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,711
If it is wired for 220v and you asked your electrician to install a 30amp RV outlet and paid for same, your electrician may have fried your converter. jmo
__________________
Chuck, Sara (RVM 50.5) & Chopper (the fuzzy 1)
2003 DSDP w/2015 Jeep Wrangler, 2 Kayaks & 2 bikes. Living and Loving life.
RVM50
chuckinthebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:46 PM   #9
RVM 18
 
okmunky's Avatar


 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fulltimer, SD resident
Posts: 7,267
When I paid a licensed electrician to put in a 30 amp plug at my daughter's place, I had to show him one of the RV electrical sites that I have bookmarked before he would believe that RVs don't use 220 power. I guess they don't teach RV in electrician school. He shook his head and said, "that just doesn't make sense".

I did make him prove to me that he wired 110 volts before letting him plug in my rig.
__________________
Barb (RVM18), Sena (capuchin monkey, RVM Head Mascot) & Lily (Maltese/Yorkie)
2011 Shasta Cynara 230F, 2012 Smart Car toad FMCA #F466348
The Journey is Our Destination. Full-timing since 5/18/2011 and loving it.
okmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chandler, IN
Posts: 18
I've been doing some searching/reading on the subject and have some additional questions. Do you think i screwed up the converter or the inverter? Should I plug back into the generator and start it up? I ask because I don't want to cause any more damage.
__________________
1995 Gulf Stream Conquest 102
31', 460 EFI, Tag Axle and slide
tdosha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:24 PM   #11
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdosha View Post
I've been doing some searching/reading on the subject and have some additional questions. Do you think i screwed up the converter or the inverter? Should I plug back into the generator and start it up? I ask because I don't want to cause any more damage.
is the converter & inverter in one unit or two separate units?
Don't plug back into the genset ........yet.
You should get a volt-ohm meter and learn how to use it. First thing is to test the plug that you plugged the RV cord into. If it's 220 volts then you've got a lot of testing and repair/replace work to do before you should use the RV electrical system.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:33 PM   #12
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,788
RV outlets have to be wired differently or you have found the result.

Here is another for your electrican.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:36 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Shadowcatche's Avatar
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,219
I wired my own and checked it with a meter prior to plugging the trailer in. I also check campground pedestals, to pare a phrase, don't trust and verify.
__________________
Shadowcatche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:56 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chandler, IN
Posts: 18
I have determined that I in fact do have a 220 volt 30 amp outlet.

Now it's time to start to access the damage and begin repairs. Is there any chance there is a blown fuse before it gets to the inverter?
__________________

__________________
1995 Gulf Stream Conquest 102
31', 460 EFI, Tag Axle and slide
tdosha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.