Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2015, 03:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
capecodbob's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 147
Where is the wind sensor disable sw.?

I have a Dometic Weather Pro Plus patio awning. I am adding a drop screen. I want to disable the wind sensor. Where is the disable switch. There is none on the controller.
__________________

__________________
capecodbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-19-2015, 03:33 PM   #2
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,313
Bob...typically your questions are easier to answer if you tell us what RV you're talking about without having to review your profile. The simple fix is to put your RV description in your signature or type it into your question.

With that said, typically the sensor is in one of your storage bays, generally on the passenger side. On my Newmar, it's in the middle bay on the passenger side.
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 04:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Find the control box.. Not the remote switch, not the fob, but the box (A black box about the size of a not quie 3 pound coffee can but flatter)

Switch is usually on the left side of the box.. Tiny toggle.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 04:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gordon Dewald's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10,174
On our coach all we have to do is turn off the awning power. Simple.
__________________
Gordon and Janet
Tour 42QD/inTech Stacker
Gordon Dewald is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 05:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 35
Where is the wind sensor disable sw.?

On my dometic weather pro it tells you on the back of the remote. I believe it is the bottom open and close at the same time and the same to turn it back on. But I will double check when I get home.
__________________
miked11272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 05:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kpjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 200
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1434752493.468246.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	131.5 KB
ID:	97769

A copy of the appropriate awning manual page is attached with directions on which remote control buttons to press.

Jim


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Jim & Karin
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35K
2007 Volkswagen EOS
Kpjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 06:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 852
Four Winds put my control box on top of the fridge inside the chimney stack. The only way to get to it was to take off the fridge vent cover on the roof. Idiots.
__________________
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 05:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Though I posted.. Somwhere. likely in a cabinet, is a black box with a switch that runs the awning in and out.. On the LEFT SIDE of that box thre should be a tiny toggle switch.. That's it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 07:00 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
capecodbob's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by miked11272 View Post
On my dometic weather pro it tells you on the back of the remote. I believe it is the bottom open and close at the same time and the same to turn it back on. But I will double check when I get home.
This is the type I have except I do not have a remote, The controller only has a button to change the sensitivity. There are no other buttons, switches.

This is a 2010 Tiffin Allegro Bus and the controller is in a compartment over the entrance door.
I have been looking for a fuse and have not found one yet. There are fuses labled " switched" and "spare " . I'll just have to keep flipping until I find it.

Dometic sent me a nice e-mail explaining about the fob buttons but have not heard back from the after informing them I had no fob.

Thanks for the input everyone., Bob.
__________________
capecodbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 07:12 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bamber Lake
Posts: 365
I have an older model that started going in and out when it felt like, mine has a small toggle switch use that or just unplug the wire that looks like a phone cable if yours has such a thing.
__________________
RayJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 12:25 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Our Bounder is the same way; the sensor can ONLY be disabled using the fob...not at the controller on the wall. I'd like to know what genius came up with that idea??
__________________
.2012 Fleetwood Bounder 33C | 2012 Jeep Wrangler

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 10:47 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 248
just block off the sensor inlet with tape
__________________

__________________
lacdubonnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wind Tolerance gator67 5th Wheel Discussion 13 06-07-2015 04:32 PM
Solar AND Wind Wryly Blithe Going Green 14 05-14-2015 12:13 AM
Wind River TT Solar Hookup fisher99 Outdoors RV Owner's Forum 16 02-23-2015 11:17 PM
How Do You Reduce Wind Resistance??? cimplexsound MH-General Discussions & Problems 40 11-08-2014 06:46 PM
"Possible" door wind noise fix brobox Entegra Owner's Forum 34 09-14-2014 10:16 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.