Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2012, 02:04 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
JGTexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 13
Wifi Antenna Cable

I just bought a Jefa Tech Wifi Antenna. I plan to set it up on a tripod, and run the RG6 cable through a window to the repeater. I spoke to a tech at Jeta Tech, and he told me I could deploy a slide out half way and route the cable through a "gap" and then complete extending the slide out. Any opinions on this method?
__________________

__________________
2010 Fleetwood Encounter 32BH
Ruthie | John | & Molly - our Aussie | Kerrville, TX
Ham Radio Operators - Ruthie N5RJM | John K5XA
JGTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-04-2012, 02:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
SCVJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Clarita, CA.
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGTexas View Post
I just bought a Jefa Tech Wifi Antenna. I plan to set it up on a tripod, and run the RG6 cable through a window to the repeater. I spoke to a tech at Jeta Tech, and he told me I could deploy a slide out half way and route the cable through a "gap" and then complete extending the slide out. Any opinions on this method?
Don't know what JefaTech antenna you are referring to, but the fiberglass vertical antennas are 50 Ohm, not 75 (RG-6)
__________________

__________________
_______________________________

Jeff - WA6EQU
'06 Itasca Meridian 34H, CAT C7/350
SCVJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 02:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Thats the way I run my cable. Hasn't caused any problems with the seal or the cable.

How tall is your tripod? The antenna needs line of sight. I have mine on my rear ladder at the top.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 02:31 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
JGTexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 13
You're right Jeff. It's in the category of RG8X.
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Encounter 32BH
Ruthie | John | & Molly - our Aussie | Kerrville, TX
Ham Radio Operators - Ruthie N5RJM | John K5XA
JGTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 02:37 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
JGTexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdennislee View Post
Thats the way I run my cable. Hasn't caused any problems with the seal or the cable.

How tall is your tripod? The antenna needs line of sight. I have mine on my rear ladder at the top.
The tripod mast will telescope to 13'. The antenna itself is 2feet. I'm hoping that will do the trick. And I'm glad to know that the slide cable routing thing is doable.
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Encounter 32BH
Ruthie | John | & Molly - our Aussie | Kerrville, TX
Ham Radio Operators - Ruthie N5RJM | John K5XA
JGTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:55 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
JGTexas: I getting set to order the Jefa---just curious why you decided to get the smaller less powerful antenna, if your telescoping tripod is 13 feet?

Incidently I am not well versed in this stuff I just read a lot about the Jefa and it comes highly reccomended. That is the end of my knowledge (never stopped me before).

As for my intended installation I am just punching the cable through the roof to a cabinet directly below--- permanent.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 10:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
I have done it that way for other cables on my motor home, Works but I've also damaged a few cords that way too (Usually by not properly removing them when getting ready to move)

Some things depend on your coach.. on my coach, both sides there are fairly large holes in the floor that go down into one pass-through basement compartment.. The "WET" one (the one with the water and waste tanks) I have routed a cable or three that way... For example power to my aux tank heaters (A string of christmas tree lights) runs down through the hole where the tank filler (Gravety flll) tube and vent tube go. This is right below a power outlet (Washer) that I do not use in the motor home so it was an ideal path.

Power for an aux space heater (When I'm on a 30 amp site (or even a 50) this plugs into the 20 amp outlet) comes in via the access door for the fill and dump and up through the hole where the water lines run for the main and half bath. Then out via a notch I cut into the riser under the toilet.

Very easy routing and both are not bothered by putting slides in or out.

But before I ran the 2nd of these ... I did the slide out bit as described.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 10:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rochester, MN, USA
Posts: 347
Many people have mounted the JefaTech antenna horizontally on one leg of their Wineguard antenna. Then when the Wineguard is raised the jefaTech becomes vertical and will be about 15 feet high. On mine I routed the cable to a nearby air horn and pushed it down into the coach. It worked wonderfully untill a lightning strike.

Have a nice day - Darrel
__________________
2007 3912 KSDP w/350HP ISL Cummins
2003 Grand Cherokee toad w/M&G Brake
Darrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 11:57 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
JGTexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by njs42 View Post
JGTexas: I getting set to order the Jefa---just curious why you decided to get the smaller less powerful antenna, if your telescoping tripod is 13 feet?

Incidently I am not well versed in this stuff I just read a lot about the Jefa and it comes highly reccomended. That is the end of my knowledge (never stopped me before).

As for my intended installation I am just punching the cable through the roof to a cabinet directly below--- permanent.
I decided to go with the smaller antenna because of portability and ease of set-up. And maybe someday, if the system works ok, I might decide a more permanent mount on one of the roof antennas, and I think the smaller one would put less stress on whatever it might be mounted to.
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Encounter 32BH
Ruthie | John | & Molly - our Aussie | Kerrville, TX
Ham Radio Operators - Ruthie N5RJM | John K5XA
JGTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 07:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
matt.brown's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 101
JefaTech

This is first I've heard of this? Is it a good buy?
__________________
Matt Brown / Chief, USN(RET)
2015 Palazzo 35.1 / 2004 Jeep Wrangler X
matt.brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 08:16 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt.brown View Post
This is first I've heard of this? Is it a good buy?



There is a thread on this set up--I cannot remember the posters name. But whether or not it is a good buy is a bit relative. I deduced from reading that this thing works and works well and has good customer support. As I recall the smaller antenna with the receiver is around $130 and a longer antenna is $219.

There are many set up less expensive----the question is how well do they work.

Jefa seems to be a sure thing from what I read.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 08:38 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
I use a Crane SuperUSB wifi instead of the Jefatech. It encapsulates the wifi receiver in the antenna module, so only a USB cable has to run to the inside. A USB cable is smaller and more supple than most antenna cables, and it fits in the slide-out gap easily. I fit mine in the lower corner where the side and bottom seals meet.

Super USB Power WiFi Antenna 3 - RV WiFi Antenna
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:19 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Tallyrver's Avatar


 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGTexas View Post
I decided to go with the smaller antenna because of portability and ease of set-up. And maybe someday, if the system works ok, I might decide a more permanent mount on one of the roof antennas, and I think the smaller one would put less stress on whatever it might be mounted to.
I went with the 2 foot antenna also ,mounted to the tv mast . I ordered a 5 foot antenna from Amazon.com .I tie strapped it temporally to the mast to check on the signal difference...like they say, bigger is better . it is about 20 ft at the top of the antenna. The weight of the setup is not an issue ,just make sure you're not under trees or other hanging items.

Wayne
__________________
Wayne and Debbie
2014 Gateway 3650BH
2008 F350 dually diesel .
www.mudflapscampingclub.com
Tallyrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 01:08 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
SCVJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Clarita, CA.
Posts: 2,379



The coax is LM-240 IIRC. Really good stuff, and Jefa will cut and terminate to any length you need.
__________________

__________________
_______________________________

Jeff - WA6EQU
'06 Itasca Meridian 34H, CAT C7/350
SCVJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CB antenna cable? Wannabe Monaco Owner's Forum 12 01-24-2012 11:01 AM
Sabrent High-Power WiFi Dave Rickey Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 12-13-2010 09:01 AM
CB Radio Antenna Cable Roger L. Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 02-27-2010 06:37 PM
Projects, Sirrus, GPS Antenna, Fan-Tastic Model 6600 w/ Wireless Remote DriVer Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 07-04-2007 11:48 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.