Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2011, 01:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
srzak's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vacaville,ca
Posts: 217
will 20 amp home to motorhome run one 13.5 air

I want to know if I run shore power at 15 to 20 amp. Could I run one 13.5 air without any damage to air unit
__________________

__________________
Steve & Denise
2003 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36.6 ft
w22, 8.1 Vacaville, Ca.
srzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-05-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,890
srzak, with 15A the breaker usually blew on us, with 20A we are able to successfully run one A/C unit (in Atlanta at the in-laws it did OK until I found an excuse to put in a 50A outlet in their garage).

My advice would be to check the voltage at an outlet in the coach using a DMM and make sure it is above 108VAC or so when the compressor is running, that voltage is usually safe.

To help insure the voltage remains above that level, minimize use of extension cords and when they are used make sure they are 12AWG.
__________________

__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 02:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
fletch460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Groves,TX
Posts: 370
10-4 on Stewarts recommendation. 20 amp on 12/3 wire.
__________________
fletch460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 02:18 PM   #4
Member
 
paulrtaylor's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pima az
Posts: 76
I put in a 30 amp circiut for mine. I had a 20 amp and it never shut the breaker off but it did get warm when running the A/C. If you have to run a new circuit anyway there is no down side to running a 30 amp breaker.
__________________
1995 31' Itasca Surise
1987 suzuki samurai toad
paulrtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
srzak's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vacaville,ca
Posts: 217
Thanks for your input I think I will go 50amp in the garage and never worry.thanks Steve
__________________
Steve & Denise
2003 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36.6 ft
w22, 8.1 Vacaville, Ca.
srzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:45 PM   #6
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,201
I ran one roof top ac on 20 am and then 1 compressor of 2 on the basement ac. I finally got 50 amp put in the driveway and now I don't worry about it. When on the 20 amp it was one thing at a time. Trying to run an AC with a vacuum cleaner would throw the breaker every time. Turning on the ac and then the overhead fan in the RV would trip it also.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
RVM14
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 04:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by srzak View Post
I want to know if I run shore power at 15 to 20 amp. Could I run one 13.5 air without any damage to air unit
I doubt it...mine won't.
__________________
2014 American Eagle 45T
DD 500
Pulling a Honda CRV
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
Done it, Did it at home,, Put in a 30 amp outlet but it was only fed by a 20 amp breaker.. Done it here too, though last night it was not Air Conditioning I needed and you can take one guess at what did NOT work. with temps in the 30's outside. Thankfully I have a back up plan.

(I fixed the furnace this noon)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 05:59 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
DAN L's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by srzak View Post
I want to know if I run shore power at 15 to 20 amp. Could I run one 13.5 air without any damage to air unit
in addition to other comments: (wire size, voltage), i use a 20 amp adapter from home depot. my 15 amp adapter from wally world got hot and voltage dropped.
__________________
01 WINNEBAGO 35U W20.8.1L SW Wa, Hi. Good Sam, SKP. AMSOIL fluids. BANKS ecm program. SCAN GAUGE II w/ Ally temp. 2 LIFELINE GPL-6CT AGM Batts on their sides. TST tptts. K&N panel air filter. AERO mufflers. TAYLOR plug wires. ULTRA POWER track bar. KONI fsd shocks, toad '14 smart car
DAN L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 01:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
alvinc's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 658
This issue came up for a friend of mine that has some property. He wanted to run one AC in the trailer, hooked up via extension cords to the garage. In this case two 100 ft extension cords with 12/3 wire. He couldn't understand why it didn't work.

Yes, the general rule of thumb for a 15 amp circuit at 100 ft is 12/3 wire, where there will be a 5.2% voltage drop (109 volts). A 12/3 extension cord at 20 amps is only good for 75 ft.

So in reality to run a 20 amp circuit 100 ft you need 10/3 wire. For 200 ft you need at least 8/3. A 200 ft 8/3 extension cord will be roughly $600.

He decided to move the trailer closer to the Garage.

Remember distance is a key factor.

BTW I am always amazed when I see a 100 ft 16/3 extension cord. It is good for 6.5 amps (750 watts), nothing more.
__________________
Alvin/KB7VHI
2002 35R Southwind, W22 8.1L Vortec UltraPower, 19.5' wheels
Toad: Wrangler, lifted and on 35" tires
alvinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 01:41 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Shellback1's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 721
Send a message via AIM to Shellback1
Here are 2 links for wire size and voltage drop.

http://www.csgnetwork.com/wiresizecalc.html

http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3274 35' Ford F53 V-10
2006 Ion Retired Navy, FAA and PASS Union VP
Shellback1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 09:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
srzak's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vacaville,ca
Posts: 217
Putting in a 50 amp service at home so I can run the air and refer while getting ready to take it out.
And the summers are hot here want to be cool when I bring it home
__________________
Steve & Denise
2003 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36.6 ft
w22, 8.1 Vacaville, Ca.
srzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Middletown,OH
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by srzak View Post
I want to know if I run shore power at 15 to 20 amp. Could I run one 13.5 air without any damage to air unit

Yes, mine does this just fine. A warning,however don't try to run another big wattage device at the same time. (eg microwave, coffee pot, etc).

cheers
__________________
Dave

Callsign: KD8W
hamdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 07:35 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
skigramp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HOME: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 2,102
Lessons that I learned from 20 amp breaker

Yes I think you can run one airconditioner from a circuit with a 20 amp breaker ...

My hint is let it start ... then after the compressor is running turn the thermostat to lowest temperature possible and do not turn the AC off until you are done with it for the day ....

Restarting the compressor before it cools down will cause a big power draw.

You will not be able to run any other major 120V appliance ... microwave, coffee pot, vacuum, etc ...while the AC is running
__________________

__________________
2012 Buick Enclave
Present At home Home: Oshkosh, WI

former owner 2004 Winnebago Journey 39W
skigramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydro-Hot air flow Basil Shannon Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 22 01-04-2011 12:32 PM
Coachmenomics Stimulus Program Is a Home Run DriVer RV Industry Press 1 08-14-2008 07:43 PM
Air Conditioner Electrical Question TallPaul RV Systems & Appliances 17 07-22-2007 03:08 AM
Workhorse UFO™ Brings A Wave Of New Choices To Motor Home Buyers DriVer RV Industry Press 6 03-25-2007 02:39 PM
New Workhorse UFO™ Chassis Brings A Wave Of New Choices To Motorhome Buyers DriVer Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 11 01-01-2007 03:27 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.