Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2008, 04:31 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,027
I've finally had time to get under the hood and examine the fuse in it's fuse box location. My first idea had been to use spade lugs to go into the fuse terminals inside the box but after looking at the box cover, I'm not sure how good of an idea that is. It also didn't look easy to try to locate and cut that wire in the wiring bundle going to the fuse box.

If someone who has already done this could share details or perhaps even pictures, I sure would appreciate it. My time is really pulled in all directions right now and I don't have a lot to spare to try to figure this out. I finally got the bit that I need to install the baseplate and would like to get the bypass switch done while I'm completing the baseplate installation.

Thanks very much.

Charlie
__________________

__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2005 Saturn Vue toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-03-2008, 04:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,027
I've finally had time to get under the hood and examine the fuse in it's fuse box location. My first idea had been to use spade lugs to go into the fuse terminals inside the box but after looking at the box cover, I'm not sure how good of an idea that is. It also didn't look easy to try to locate and cut that wire in the wiring bundle going to the fuse box.

If someone who has already done this could share details or perhaps even pictures, I sure would appreciate it. My time is really pulled in all directions right now and I don't have a lot to spare to try to figure this out. I finally got the bit that I need to install the baseplate and would like to get the bypass switch done while I'm completing the baseplate installation.

Thanks very much.

Charlie
__________________

__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2005 Saturn Vue toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 03:31 AM   #3
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
We have an '06 Vue that should be the same as your '05. I did exactly what you describe - I put spade lugs right into the sockets on either side where the blades of the fuse were. You can get spade plugs that have the leads coming off at 90 degrees if you're concerned about hitting the cover.

I added a 30 amp in-line fuse to replace the large, 30 amp fuse that was removed. Make sure the inline fuse is on the hot side of the switch. I ran 2 wires through the firewall and put the switch at the bottom of the dash. Make sure you get a switch and use wires rated to carry 30 amp, 12V DC.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,027
Thanks, Paz.

A couple of questions, if I might:
1. How/where did you exit the fuse box with the wires?
2. In the chart that I have for wiring size, it looks like #14 is sufficient to carry 30amps over what appears to be about a 14 foot total length (to the dash and back). Is that what you used?
3. I would expect to replace the 30amp fuse type. I haven't seen any inline fuse holders where I could use the existing fuse type. Is that what you did?

Thanks,

Charlie
__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2005 Saturn Vue toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 04:08 AM   #5
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by chasfm11:
Thanks, Paz.

A couple of questions, if I might:
1. How/where did you exit the fuse box with the wires? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
There is step at the back of the box where the rest of the wires run in and out of the box - that's where I ran the new wires to the switch.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">2. In the chart that I have for wiring size, it looks like #14 is sufficient to carry 30amps over what appears to be about a 14 foot total length (to the dash and back). Is that what you used? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I don't think my wiring was that long - only 3 or 4 feet each way. But I also don't think 14 gauge is big enough for 12V DC 30amp. I think I used 10 gauge.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">3. I would expect to replace the 30amp fuse type. I haven't seen any inline fuse holders where I could use the existing fuse type. Is that what you did? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I used the fuse holder available at Wal-Mart. It takes a type ATC fuse. I did a Google search and in-line holders for the large size fuse that Saturn uses are available, but I used one I could get locally.

There is also a fuse holder/switch/wiring assembly commercially available for this exact purpose, but I can't seem to find the link. If I remember correctly, it was expansive ($25 to $30). You can buy the components for a lot less.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 07:18 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
14 ga is the minimum 12v wiring for 30A and that assumes the wires are in open air, not bundled. I'd use 12 ga to be safe. Or even 10.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 05:07 AM   #7
RLS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eureka,MO USA
Posts: 156
I used 12ga THHN on my 05' and am using it on my 07'. I also found an inline waterproof 30 amp fuse holder. I tapped off the positive lug connection that goes to the fuse box with the fuse line. From there to the switch and back to the box. This way I only had to run one wire into the fuse box . Has been working for years.
__________________

__________________
Bob and Barb
06' Itasca Meridian 36G 350 Cat
08 Ford Edge
RLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturn ignition fuse switch? Ol'Joe Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 23 09-21-2010 01:27 PM
In-Line Saturn Vue Fuse Holder chasfm11 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 6 02-24-2009 04:41 PM
Saturn Vue - 2008 Fuse Blue Ribbon Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 8 06-24-2008 09:44 AM
Breakaway switch and lights on a VUE mrschwarz Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 05-02-2007 03:01 AM
2005 saturn vue 30 amp fuse 20champ1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 06-22-2005 03:32 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.