Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 12-09-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
2006 Chevy Colorado 2wd Toad Conversion

Just completed work on the mods necessary to convert our 2006 Chev Colorado 2wd for toad / dinghy duties. I had originally been looking for a 4wd so that I could just shift the transfer case into neutral but I just couldn't find one that wasn't ragged out and super high mileage, my total budget was $15k to cover everything and this vehicle will also be a daily driver for my girlfriends house cleaning business.
This truck only had 39k miles original owner and with tax and registration I was in it for $12,400. We wanted a pickup so that we could load one or both of our scooters or one scooter and some firewood.
I got a real nice Roadmaster Sterling aluminum tow bar setup with my Trek when I bought it this summer so a big expense was avoided there.
The "base plate" adapters from roadmaster/blue ox and others were a minimum of $250 and for what you get/need there was no way I was going to go that route. I spent about $25 in raw material and fabricated my own. I also got the lighting wiring and diodes installed for the tow lighting and I got the VIP Tow><Brake wiring installed as well (completed the motorhome side a few weeks back). No small amount of labor but I'm sure I saved myself a few hundred on those installs as well.