Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2011, 10:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
lechan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
2008 Saturn Aura, fuse bypass

I have the same kind of problem with the fuses. My manual says to pull the ign fuse. This is located by the passenger left ankle. The whole section is pulled out to find the fuse. I would like to bypass this, as the other threads explain, but probely have a little different situation?
Les Chandler
__________________

__________________
lechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2011, 11:22 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Not really any different, I would think. You need to connect a wire to the fuse terminals somehow, either with a slid eon connector (e.g. a spade terminal) or modify a blown use to use its blades as the contact. Then put a fuse and switch in the wire you have added.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:58 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
lechan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Smile Les Chandler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
Not really any different, I would think. You need to connect a wire to the fuse terminals somehow, either with a slid eon connector (e.g. a spade terminal) or modify a blown use to use its blades as the contact. Then put a fuse and switch in the wire you have added.
thanks for your imput
I ended up ordering a "Rving FuseSwitch" from www.RV-PartsPlus.com, Part No: FSW-1M
Already made up, and kind of expensive, ended w/shipping $48.45. But, all made up with instructions.
Les Chandler
__________________
lechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:25 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
I made mine for about $10, but it's only easy if you are familiar with electrical work.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
I made mine for about $10, but it's only easy if you are familiar with electrical work.
Gary, is your Acadia ign fuse a mini or a micro fuse? My 2011 Malibu has a micro fuse and I haven't been able to locate a micro fuse tap...any suggestions?
Thanks
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 10:21 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
No, the Acadia pulls a big 50A can-type fuse that has standard spade female size sockets.

Can you take a micro fuse and dissemble it to get the blades? A blown fuse works - just remove enough plastic to solder wires to the top.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
Can you take a micro fuse and dissemble it to get the blades? A blown fuse works - just remove enough plastic to solder wires to the top.
Thanks Gary, I'll give that a try. For the life of me I don't understand why they use the micro fuses...dang they're little.
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:03 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Ain't that the truth! Too small for these old fingers!
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 03:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
Can you take a micro fuse and dissemble it to get the blades? A blown fuse works - just remove enough plastic to solder wires to the top.
Tried the disassemble and use the blades method Gary...not. The blades were much to wobbly.

Next I tried blowing a fuse and scraping enough of the plastic material so I could solder a wire but I kept melting the plastic and covering the blade with plastic I couldn't get good contact.

I then noticed on top of the fuse two metal "dots" for testing the fuse. I blew another fuse and this time I put the flux on the dot and of course the wire. Using a very small soldering iron I soldered the wire and got it (the wire) hot enough that it would melt the plastic and actually would slid (melt) into the plastic. First try I got the wire in contact with the blade but the second wire got "cock-eyed" and I could see one strand of wire touching the other blade. My Ohm meter verified my weak eyes.

One more fuse...sure glad a bought the big pack! By this time I had my procedure down and by golly it worked.

I got all the other connections to the new fuse holder and the switch soldered and all ohmed (sp) out okay. I installed everything and I'll be dang if it didn't work. Total spent was $9.34 and learning to solder again-priceless.

BTW, if you need to mess with those micro fuses, they are a bugger to deal with unless of course you have a steady hand with slim fingers and good up close eye sight.
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 05:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
George Z's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,078
Make sure if you try the inline fuse holder and switch with the Acadia 50 amper that both the fuse holder and switch are rated for 50 amps. You may have to go to a truck parts house to get them.
__________________
Kathy & George Zimm
Mickleton, NJ
2006 Coachman Epic & 2013 Chevy Equinox Toad
George Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:57 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
A NAPA store got both the 50A toggle and 50A maxi-fuse holder for me. They didn't have it in stock, but got it the next day.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:59 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Jim,
Your "hole" technique is probably ok for that 2A load, but I wonder if you could get a wire large enough for say, 20A, in the same way? Some of those micro-fuses aren't very micro in current!
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 06:50 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
Jim,
Your "hole" technique is probably ok for that 2A load, but I wonder if you could get a wire large enough for say, 20A, in the same way? Some of those micro-fuses aren't very micro in current!
I used some left over tail light wire which I believe is 16 ga. Biggest problem was shaky hands.
__________________

__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse Blows- "40A IGN A" fuse - HELP!! jntrox Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 7 08-05-2012 08:19 PM
2008 bounder fuse bandmbrown Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 1 12-21-2008 07:43 AM
2008 Saturn Toad electrical problem Don in E Texas Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 03-29-2008 02:13 PM
2008 Models tderonne Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 16 07-14-2007 11:52 AM
how to put a fuse on a switch? Don Barber Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 06-27-2007 06:30 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.