Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 07-07-2009, 10:20 PM   #1

2009 Ford Focus Toad Instructions

Hi All.
I'm new to IRV2, so please bear with me as I learn how to post and ask questions. If this question is covered somewhere else, let me know where.

I'm planning to buy a '09 Ford Focus with manual transmission to tow behind our Newmar KSDP. Everything I read says this car is 4 wheels down towable.

I read in the Focus Owners Manual today that in order to tow the Focus on it's 4 wheels, one should put the transmission in neutral, make sure the parking brake is NOT engaged, and turn the key switch to the "Off" position. On the very next page of the owners manual is a description of the 4 key switch positions... off, accessory, run, start. It says that in the "off" position, the steering wheel lock is engaged.

We've been towing for two years and have never had the steering wheel locked. But now we're confronted with Ford's Owner's manual telling us to have the steering lock engaged. This just doesn't sound right. Don't the wheels have to be free to caster in order to minimize tire wear???

I'd love to hear first hand from others towing a Focus. What do you do? Have you had any problems??

Thanks in advance...

TDHoch

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!