Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2014, 08:56 AM   #85
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by just tasha View Post
...no memory seats either!
Deal breaker for me. The Liberty only had partial memory, the power seats were only so-so (no power seat back tilt or forward/back position). The GC is much better.

I just figured out how to link the key fobs to the seat memory, so it's set for the right driver. Still gets confused sometimes when we use the proximity unlock instead of the key fob button.
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-13-2014, 01:46 PM   #86
Senior Member
 
The Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Southern Ontario/Palmetto FL
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by just tasha View Post
...no memory seats either!
My Limited has a memory driver's seat - 2 memory buttons and a set button. Maybe you were just too cheap.

OH, the radio and mirrors are set for drivers 1 & 2 as well.

I have a feeling that this feature may not have been available on the TH. It is a specific line item on my build and price sheet and says "incl"

Just went and checked a half dozen items (including all the material provided for sales reps) ending with the brochure. The memory seat/mirror/radio is ONLY available on the Limited as an item in the Luxury package (which is not available on the TH).

As to one touch up down windows that is puzzling. The Sport is one touch down. The Latitude (North in Canada) is one touch up and down. According to the brochure that should be in the Limited because it says you get everything in the North (Cdn brochure) and the following (and then lists the additional items).

I'm going out to check DW's windows again.

OK, she has ONE TOUCH UP AND DOWN for driver and co-pilot. You can't just give the button a little poke though.

Maybe they figured the "roughing it types" who get the TH don't really like fancy do-dads like memory seats and one touch windows?

Don
__________________

__________________
2011 Itasca Impulse 26QP Silver, 2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited V6 Active Drive II
The Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:30 PM   #87
Member
 
woward's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Brakes for 2014 Cherokee Toad?

I didn't see where anyone described what they've done for brakes on their 2014 Cherokee toad? I just checked with M&G and they do not have a system for this vehicle. Any success stories for brake system? I prefer the integrated systems rather than those that require install/uninstall each time vehicle is disconnected (spoiled by the M&G system on my 2005 Tahoe).

Thanks,

Bill
__________________
2008 Monaco Diplomat 36PDQ
Our Rig
woward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:33 PM   #88
Senior Member
 
BobGed's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by woward View Post
I didn't see where anyone described what they've done for brakes on their 2014 Cherokee toad? I just checked with M&G and they do not have a system for this vehicle. Any success stories for brake system? I prefer the integrated systems rather than those that require install/uninstall each time vehicle is disconnected (spoiled by the M&G system on my 2005 Tahoe).

Thanks,

Bill
I had an Air Force One installed on mine. So far it's working great.
__________________
Bob, Sherron & Kinsey (Goldendoodle)
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
BobGed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 10:55 PM   #89
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 432
I am also using the SMI, Air Force One. We have put about 3,000 miles on it over the past 5 weeks and it has worked flawlessly. I love the ease of setup, just connect the air hose and breakaway cable and go.

Stuart
__________________
Stuart & Leslie
08 Holiday Ramb Navigator, 45 ft, Cummins ISX 600, 2014 Cherokee Limited, Cashmere. Roadmaster Sterling, SMI Airforceone. Full-timing since May 2014
S-n-L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 06:04 AM   #90
Senior Member
 
rream's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobGed View Post
I had an Air Force One installed on mine. So far it's working great.
I had an Air Force One installed about a month ago on mine also, have pulled it twice with no problems. Installer mounted the little red light strip to the right of the mirror in front of the driver so I could see it with the MH camera. He used a piece of aluminum that he painted black that tucks into the seam of the headliner.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Journey 36M Cummins 360
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited, Air Force One
277 Campgrounds, 1350 nights camping since 2009 and 61 K Winnebago miles
rream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 07:18 AM   #91
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berwick, PA
Posts: 31
If you are using the Air force one, could you tell me where they installed the control box and where they tied into the vacuum line. Thanks
__________________
Jim, Beryl, & BJ the Westie
2013 Journey 34B, Cummins 340, Allison 2500
2014 Jeep Cherokee
jreichlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:37 AM   #92
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 432
The control box was installed on top of the fuse box right behind the battery. It fits well at looks good. I do not know exactly where they tied the vacuum line.

Stuart
__________________
Stuart & Leslie
08 Holiday Ramb Navigator, 45 ft, Cummins ISX 600, 2014 Cherokee Limited, Cashmere. Roadmaster Sterling, SMI Airforceone. Full-timing since May 2014
S-n-L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:38 AM   #93
Member
 
woward's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
re: Brakes for 2014 Cherokee Toad

Could anyone who has the AF1 installed send or upload pictures of the key components so we can get an idea of what the installer did and where it was done? I'm not near anyone who could professionally install one so probably have to make it a DIY project.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
2008 Monaco Diplomat 36PDQ
Our Rig
woward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 10:40 PM   #94
bcp
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sisters, OR
Posts: 59
Here are some photos that SMI sent me to aid in my install on my new Cherokee Trailhawk. I have to install a Roadmaster baseplate and wire the rear lights too so I will work in the install of the Jeep side of the AF-1 at the appropriate time during the process. There is a video on YouTube that shows the steps although not on a Cherokee. It looks pretty straightforward. A call to SMI can help cut through the confusion. They seem to be really knowledgable and willing to help.
Attached Images
    
__________________
bcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 11:27 PM   #95
Senior Member
 
BobGed's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,833
My control box is mounted on a fabricated bracket attached to bumper. It does not restrict any air flow to the radiator. I had an LED light on my coach dash already wired from my previous brake system, so I had the installer attach the AF1 wire to that connector for my umbilical cord.
__________________
Bob, Sherron & Kinsey (Goldendoodle)
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
BobGed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 08:37 AM   #96
bcp
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sisters, OR
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobGed View Post
My control box is mounted on a fabricated bracket attached to bumper. It does not restrict any air flow to the radiator. I had an LED light on my coach dash already wired from my previous brake system, so I had the installer attach the AF1 wire to that connector for my umbilical cord.
SMI suggested mounting the control box on top of the battery or the fuse box. Either looks like a suitable location. I'll know better when my kit arrives but I'm thinking about velcroing the box to the battery cover.
__________________
bcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:07 AM   #97
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 13
I have the 2014 Cherokee and have towed it once from the Motorhome Dealer home. But could not figure out how to turn the ACC off with the Cherokee in neutral. Can anyone advice how I can turn it off without re-engaging the transmission. Would like to be able to stop and go without disconnecting.
__________________
RichBirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:18 AM   #98
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichBirk View Post
I have the 2014 Cherokee and have towed it once from the Motorhome Dealer home. But could not figure out how to turn the ACC off with the Cherokee in neutral. Can anyone advice how I can turn it off without re-engaging the transmission. Would like to be able to stop and go without disconnecting.
If you have the right transmission, with the transfer case, you want the transmission back in gear (park for auto). As long as the transfer case is in neutral, you're good to go.
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
towing



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.