Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 03-28-2016, 01:48 PM   #1

"All Terrain" tow bars

I have an older Roadmaster Sterling tow bar, which I think is NOT the "all terrain" version. I'm considering replacing it with a Sterling or Falcon all-terrain bar. Will these new versions REALLY disconnect under load? That would be wonderful!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-28-2016, 01:50 PM   #2

Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
We also have the older Sterling and I've never had a problem disconnecting it. But then I don't go "four wheeling" either.
Personally I don't think it's worth the cost to upgrade. I even asked RoadMaster about an upgrade for ours and they said it can't be done, plus, at that time they didn't offer a trade in program either, but they might now.

Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 01:55 PM   #3

I have the Sterling that I bought about 10 years ago. It will bind occasionally. I also have a newer Falcon All Terrain. The Falcon is much easier to disconnect. It is also a bit heavier than the Sterling. I do like the Falcon better.
Old 03-28-2016, 01:59 PM   #4