Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 08-31-2013, 10:34 AM   #1
New to the RV World

Vintage RV Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Best way to take a towed vehicle with you?

I'm new to RVing.

I purchased the RV for the purpose of being able to go to drag races and not have to leave the track.

I have the MH set up to tow a 28 foot enclosed trailer that hauls my dragster.

The after thought has come up to use the MH for weekend get a ways. We would like to visit state and national parks.

I have a vintage survivor CJ-7 Jeep I would like to take with us on these get a ways.

The question is what is the best way to do that?

The Jeep is aligned and has 6 degrees of front axle caster, but the wheel does not like to return to neutral by itself when driving.

There are four ways to go so far as I can see;

1) Tow bar, I'm concerned about the short length of the Jeep and the reluctance of the steering in the jeep to return to neutral by itself. I'm afraid it might have bad towing characteristics. The Jeep does have the original Dana 300 transfer case which has a neutral position and the front axle can be locked out so the drive shaft for the front woulds not turn (do I have to remove the drive shaft for the rear axle or is just putting the transfer case in neutral good enough?)I also do not want to expose a historical vehicle to the weather and grim in an open tow behind.

2) Dolly, Most of the above still appies except that the concern of the neural return is eliminated. Backing up becomes a problem with the two pivot points.