Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2015, 10:28 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Brake Buddy quit working

Brake Buddy blew the fuse for my power outlet in my Jeep Rubicon. I always check it each morning on the road before heading out. The red led on the plug doesn't light even when plugged into the cig. lighter outlet which has power. The contacts on the plug are OK. The unit smells like something fried inside the box. Traveled up I-5 in central Calif. & it was extremely rough. Possibly the pendulum was swinging which caused the thing to activate too much. Any ideas?? It's worked great for many 1000's of miles.
__________________

__________________
Asapguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-02-2015, 12:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Trenton NE
Posts: 244
[QUOTE=Asapguy;2492782]Brake Buddy blew the fuse for my power outlet in my Jeep Rubicon. I always check it each morning on the road before heading out. The red led on the plug doesn't light even when plugged into the cig. lighter outlet which has power. The contacts on the plug are OK. The unit smells like something fried inside the box. Traveled up I-5 in central Calif. & it was extremely rough. Possibly the pendulum was swinging which caused the thing to activate too much. Any ideas?? It's worked great for many 1000's of miles.[/QUOTE]

Try starting engine and then plug in and turn on. Low voltage will prevent unit from activating. If unit is several yrs. old, you might consider sending to factory authorized dealer for complete overhaul. Very reasonable and comes back like new. I sent mine in ( 10 yrs. old) and they updated to digital and replaced all hoses and new compressor, all for under 150,00 . Also, on rough roads try adjusting sensitivity to lower setting to prevent unneccesary actions. good luck.
__________________

__________________
Alleyman; 2004 Dolphin 5355; Banks Power Pack, Ottominder; 405 Watts Solar, 2010 Explorer XLT Toad. four month boondockers!
Alleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 12:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,458
Try calling the Manufacturer. I had trouble with my Patriot and BlueOx sent me a brand new unit prepaid to my next stop with a RA to return the old one back for a little over half the cost of a new one. The replacement is a Much Better device.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 12:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennis45 View Post
Try calling the Manufacturer. I had trouble with my Patriot and BlueOx sent me a brand new unit prepaid to my next stop with a RA to return the old one back for a little over half the cost of a new one. The replacement is a Much Better device.
I agree. I too had a problem with a Blue Ox product two years ago. They express mailed a replacement to the campground where I was staying and had me return the defective part. Great service!!
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 01:30 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
I did call BB customer service yesterday & talk with Josh, he was very nice & very helpful. He's 99% sure it sounds like my compressor burned up. Cost to repair s/b under $200. For less then half the retail price of a new unit they'll replace mine with their latest & greatest unit. I need to send mine in & they'll call with an estimate & I can decide what I want to do. They don't furnish replacement parts for liability reasons which I can understand. The new units have proportional braking which can be adj. with a remote control unit in the m-h.
When I went to replace the 20 amp fuse for my Jeep power outlet it was OK but the outlet is dead so now I have to trouble shoot that. Thanks for all the responses.
__________________
Asapguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 01:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asapguy View Post
I did call BB customer service yesterday & talk with Josh, he was very nice & very helpful. He's 99% sure it sounds like my compressor burned up. Cost to repair s/b under $200. For less then half the retail price of a new unit they'll replace mine with their latest & greatest unit. I need to send mine in & they'll call with an estimate & I can decide what I want to do. They don't furnish replacement parts for liability reasons which I can understand. The new units have proportional braking which can be adj. with a remote control unit in the m-h.
When I went to replace the 20 amp fuse for my Jeep power outlet it was OK but the outlet is dead so now I have to trouble shoot that. Thanks for all the responses.
Sounds like they're willing to work with you. Given the choice, I would take them up on a new one at reduced cost.
__________________

__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake Buddy Remote pjkellrvers Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 02-07-2015 10:39 AM
Air Conditioners quit working MaddMarston Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 12 05-18-2014 07:13 PM
Brake lights not working help maxwell18 Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 05-06-2014 06:07 PM
WILL BRAKE BUDDY WORK, FLAT TOWING MY 2013 Ford F-150 4x4 rcestes Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 04-13-2014 01:19 PM
Brake Buddy Vantage Select. steve4539 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 03-10-2014 10:03 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.