Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2006, 07:19 AM   #1
abn
Member
 
abn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 43
We use a BrakePro by RoadMaster as the auxillary braking system for our Jeep. We've had a couple occasions where the battery for the Jeep got drained to the point where it would not start. This, of course, also left us without brakes for the Jeep. We traced the cause of the problem to two things. (1) The Jeep's battery needed to be replaced. (2) The BrakePro, contrary to it's documentation, needs to be set for level EACH time.

To eliminate this problem entirely, I had thought about running a power line from the RV's coach battery as the source for the BrakePro.

Has anyone else tried/done this?
If so, are there any drawbacks or issues with this approach?



Thanks

Moderator note: moved from the Winnebago Owners Forum
__________________

__________________
2002 Itasca Suncruiser 35U
1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee
abn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-08-2006, 07:19 AM   #2
abn
Member
 
abn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 43
We use a BrakePro by RoadMaster as the auxillary braking system for our Jeep. We've had a couple occasions where the battery for the Jeep got drained to the point where it would not start. This, of course, also left us without brakes for the Jeep. We traced the cause of the problem to two things. (1) The Jeep's battery needed to be replaced. (2) The BrakePro, contrary to it's documentation, needs to be set for level EACH time.

To eliminate this problem entirely, I had thought about running a power line from the RV's coach battery as the source for the BrakePro.

Has anyone else tried/done this?
If so, are there any drawbacks or issues with this approach?



Thanks

Moderator note: moved from the Winnebago Owners Forum
__________________

__________________
2002 Itasca Suncruiser 35U
1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee
abn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 11:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rogueii's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 603
I have a friend who has the same problem, If the unit wasn't set just right, the brake lighs stayed on and he would have a dead battery when he got to his destination. He was running a power source from the RV, You should be able to do this with out any problems. Check the amps and use a large enough wire.
__________________
04 SeaBreese LX 8341 / Workhorse W-22 / GM 8.1 / Allison 5 Speed / Brazel's ULTRAPOWER Upgrade/Taylor Extreme Service PlusCables/DIYCAI
06 Honda CRV4/SE/all wheel drive with Falcon II / Roadmaster 9000 Braking System
rogueii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 03:09 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
I have run a charging circuit. My Buick has a draw of 5 amps I can't eliminate. So the charge wire takes care of both problems.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent electrical problem - no mirror power or camera power born2camp Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 07-14-2008 04:45 PM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 02:46 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM
No Power Mirror, radio, temp, power window, and Jacks. RVDriver Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 08-02-2005 11:20 AM
No Power Steering or Power Brakes MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.