Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 02-04-2012, 05:26 PM   #1

fwd car dolly questions

Hi...new to the forum and bought my first Class A coach in Nov. 2011 and have a few general questions that I hope are no totally ignorant, but I am new to the RV game...

I have a 1994 Winnebago Adventurer Class A 29 foot with a Ford 460V8FI with about 59,000 miles on it...in excellent shape..inside and out and runs strong.

I want to pull my 2009 Ford Focus 4 dr sedan...(Front wheel drive..total curb weight is 2623 lbs according to owners manual....with about 62% of that total weight on the front wheels) with a CAR TOW DOLLY...here comes the questions.....

With the car dolly weight and the towed car weight total..under 3200 lbs, do I need to buy a car dolly with brakes? given the size/weight/power of my motorhome?

If I do need to get a car dolly with brakes....what are the opinions out there as to buying ELECTRIC brakes ,or SURGE type brakes and why is one better than the other???

AND...from those with experience....what brand names of car tow dollies for small to medium sized FWD cars are rated the BEST over recent years?

Thanks in advance for your valued advice....Steve

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!