Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-30-2012, 04:58 AM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Car Trailer Towing

With the way my better half changes cars I thought it would be better just to buy a trailer and haul the car/motorcycles in it. We've got a 40ft DutchStar and a 24ft trailer, anyone have any words of wisdom to pass before our first big trip? I used to be a truck driver, and used to pull a fiver, so I'm pretty sure backing and turning won't be an issue.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-30-2012, 05:46 AM   #2

We did/do the same. When we would go to a car show having a place to park the rig with the trailer is usually not a problem. However......you might be limiting yourself as to which campgrounds you can go to. Some just don't have the room to park a 40 footer and a trailer and the car at the campsite. You will have to unload the trailer, then park the trailer somewhere and then park in your camping spot. I would usually call ahead to the campground and ask if they had big enough camp spaces or a place I could park the trailer after I unloaded it.
Greg

mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote