Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2016, 10:39 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
jimbooth25's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: sebring,fl
Posts: 301
Charge battery from 6 way plug

I just got a 2016 f150 and need to make it towable, I have everything coming and I want to install a wire from the motorhome plug which attaches to the vehicle by way of a 6way round plug, if I am thinking correctly I could just run a wire from the 12volt source on the plug to the battery correct or is there other things I need to do? If anyone else has done this your input will be appreciated. I have a trip in 2 weeks and I will be installing the baseplate etc on my truck myself since no one around me can do it for over a month from now.
__________________

__________________
jimbooth25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2016, 10:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 4,882
Assuming you have a gas powered coach, I will speak in general terms for your power source. On a DP the power is at the rear for the engine but I'm not familiar with the gas coaches.
So, once you have located a 12V power source, you will need to run a wire (8 or 10 gauge) through a 20A fuse (or circuit breaker) to the Aux pin on the MH plug. Then on the toad end, pick up that same pin and run the wire through another 20A fuse (or circuit breaker) to the Postive Terminal of the toad battery.
The fuse on each end are very important to protect the connection from a short at either end.

BTW, If you already have a 12V source at the MH plug, check to make sure it is fused and then just run the wire as I described from the toad connection through a fuse.
__________________

__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 11:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jimbooth25's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: sebring,fl
Posts: 301
Thanks for the response, I already have 12v to the rv plug that has been fused, just need it on the new toad. Thank you for the help with this. I was going to run the wire from the 6 pin connector through a fuse to the battery but didn't know if there was anything else that I needed to do.
__________________
jimbooth25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 01:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 4,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbooth25 View Post
Thanks for the response, I already have 12v to the rv plug that has been fused, just need it on the new toad. Thank you for the help with this. I was going to run the wire from the 6 pin connector through a fuse to the battery but didn't know if there was anything else that I needed to do.
Some folks get carried away with the "fuse" thing and, I guess it's Ok. I've done just what you're getting ready to do and, it's no big deal. Yes, you alredy have 12VDC at the Trailer plug on the coach. So, you use one of the wires in the pig tail to carry that 12V over to the truck. Then, run it to the positive post on the battery. Yes, I'd put a fuse in line, close to the battery. From then on, you're good to go.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 02:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 4,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIRE UP View Post
Some folks get carried away with the "fuse" thing and, I guess it's Ok. I've done just what you're getting ready to do and, it's no big deal. Yes, you alredy have 12VDC at the Trailer plug on the coach. So, you use one of the wires in the pig tail to carry that 12V over to the truck. Then, run it to the positive post on the battery. Yes, I'd put a fuse in line, close to the battery. From then on, you're good to go.

Scott

The nice thing about fuses is they keep wires from getting REALLY HOT and MELTY...
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 03:47 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbooth25 View Post
Thanks for the response, I already have 12v to the rv plug that has been fused, just need it on the new toad. Thank you for the help with this. I was going to run the wire from the 6 pin connector through a fuse to the battery but didn't know if there was anything else that I needed to do.
I don't know of anything else that needs to be done. I just ran a wire from the toads plug to the battery, with a fuse near the battery.

The wire is so short I don't believe it's required to be fused at both ends. Some types and lengths of automotive wiring it's recommended to use two fuses, one at each end of a hot wire.
__________________
user293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 05:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,894
There seems to be a disconnect here.

When " dennis45 " said " a fuse on each and " , he was referring to the entire wire run, not a fuse at each end of each wire.

Any time you connect a wire to a battery, there should be a fuse.

If connecting to 2 batteries then 2 fuses, each near the battery.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 08:39 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
There seems to be a disconnect here.

When " dennis45 " said " a fuse on each and " , he was referring to the entire wire run, not a fuse at each end of each wire.

Any time you connect a wire to a battery, there should be a fuse.

If connecting to 2 batteries then 2 fuses, each near the battery.
Agreed
__________________
'16 Bounder 35K - 5 Star Tune, Roadmaster RSSA, TST-507 TPMS
'16 Ford Focus - Blue Ox Avail towbar and baseplate - RViBrake2
computerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 09:12 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 4,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
There seems to be a disconnect here.

When " dennis45 " said " a fuse on each and " , he was referring to the entire wire run, not a fuse at each end of each wire.

Any time you connect a wire to a battery, there should be a fuse.

If connecting to 2 batteries then 2 fuses, each near the battery.

Sorry for the confusion, what I meant was a fuse at the toad battery and a fuse at the MH power source. Two fuses.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 12:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jimbooth25's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: sebring,fl
Posts: 301
Thanks guys I have run the wire and will be testing it out as soon as I get my coach back from the shop, my last car was hooked up through the coach trailer plug and I already knew it had a fuse on that end , just needed to run the new wire on my new truck with a fuse next to the battery terminal.
__________________
jimbooth25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 12:19 PM   #11
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbooth25 View Post
I just got a 2016 f150 and need to make it towable, I have everything coming and I want to install a wire from the motorhome plug which attaches to the vehicle by way of a 6way round plug, if I am thinking correctly I could just run a wire from the 12volt source on the plug to the battery correct or is there other things I need to do? If anyone else has done this your input will be appreciated. I have a trip in 2 weeks and I will be installing the baseplate etc on my truck myself since no one around me can do it for over a month from now.
See:
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 02:48 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Spokane/Albq/San Tan
Posts: 13
Good advise

Good advise...I installed a cheapie battery maintainer which does not work...dead battery after a few hours..Have 12vdc at the unit fuse but not at the battery connection. Think that I will run through a 15amp fuse direct to the battery. Using the factory wiring from the fuse block under the dash to the 7-pin, 14ga factory wiring...installed in the harness but not connected to the block or the 7-pin. Just wonder if the wire is big enough to handle the load.
2016 Baystar towing a 2014 CRV.
__________________
Susiedavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 02:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 79
I can't see any reason why you would need more than one fuse per battery.

Sometimes a second fuse is required to protect some types of devices that do not have their own fuse protection. E.g. you have a mA or 1 - 3 amp device connected to a higher or significantly higher amp power wire. A power surge possibly can cause damage to lower amp devices without blowing the main fuse near the battery.

The fuse near the battery mainly protects the power wire but may or may not protect a device or devices connected to a power wire.

Suggested fuse sizes are usually base on wire size and in some cases voltage rating of a fuse.

What I usually do when installing multiple auxiliary devices in a vehicle is install a auxiliary fuse panel in order to isolate all the auxiliary devices in a vehicle from the OE fuses, devices and wiring. I can then choose a fuse and wire size for each connected device or another power wire from the aux. panel.

When creating your own power wire using a fused wire to a plug, you need to make certain the plugs power wire is isolated from the rest of the plug wiring and you have proper grounding.

For a trailer or toad power wire I would probably use a automotive 30/40 amp relay connected to the ign. wire and battery. So there is no power to the trailer or toad connection when the engine is not running. The relay prevents two batteries from draining one another. ( 8 to 10 gauge wire is often used for a 12 volt charge/power wire.)

(Battery - 12 volts) ---(fuse)--- (relay) ---{12 volts}---- (tow vehicle trailer plug)
(ign) --------------------------------|

I normally make my own battery cables. Sometimes will upgrade to a larger size battery cable(s) from their OE specs. When installing aux. devices, sometimes require larger size battery cables. Upgrading your alternator cable from OE specs usually will increase your alternator output and efficiency, at least by a small margin.

To connect aux. power to top post batteries I normally use either a marine or military top post terminals adapters.

Battery and Battery Cable Accessories
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	141601  
__________________

__________________
user293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can A 30A MH Plug Into A 50A Outlet (with a plug converter of course) Ceratto's Grotto MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 07-08-2012 05:15 PM
To un-plug or not to un-plug Flyflicker Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 05-16-2011 07:42 AM
CC Recall Dealer can't find plug to un plug. Location Help dake Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 12-25-2007 04:55 AM
Spartan Chassis plug in "diagonistic" plug David K Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 24 12-21-2007 05:44 AM
Spartan Chassis plug in "diagonistic" plug Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 24 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.