Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 04-18-2012, 02:09 AM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Send a message via Skype™ to Qwert66
Charging "toad" battery from the MH ?

Diesel pusher towing a car with a portable brake system (like BlueOx Patriot)
My specific tow vehicle is diode wired to the current lights (Trailblazer) and with the key off (for towing) and brakes on of course the brake lights come on unless I remove the 2 referenced fuses. I would not like to have to remove the 2 fuses but am concerned on how long the toad battery (with portable brake) will last from the uncharged car battery. I am new to this so havn't tested the "how long" but we do take long 3-4 day tow trips.

There fore I'm looking for a small current charging device that would get the power from my 6 wire (12v+ feed) to keep the toad battery charged for long hauls and to insure the portable brake functions.

Found this device Ultra TRIK-L-START Starting Battery Charger/Maintainer and was wondering if anyone uses this or sees a reason not to. It would be fed from the chassis battery thru the trailer harness.

I simply don't want to have to remove the 2 fuses as part of my hookup process and have the 6 wire harness already.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!