Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-03-2016, 05:48 PM   #1

Class C Towing Rating Dilemma and Utter Confusion.

I am looking at buying a used Cruise America Class C. It would likely be a 2011.

I own a 2008 FJ Cruiser and love that vehicle. I'm also an off-road instructor and that is my training vehicle.

I would like to avoid towing my FJC on all 4, even with a driveshaft disconnect, or even on a dolly. I would prefer a trailer to keep it off the ground.

My issue is figuring out if the RV I am looking at will tow it. I have had multiple answers and opinions and it is just confusing.

The FJ has a curb weight of 4,200 and GVWR of about 5550. The weight will increase a bit once I put on the bull bar, winch, rear bumper/tire rack, etc.

The trailer I am looking at, a featherlite, weighs about 1,300lbs.

My initial interest was the 23A, but with a V8 I don't think it will handle the tow.

Specs for 23A:
ChassisE350
Engine TypeTriton
Engine Size5.4 Liter V8

Specs for 27G
ChassisE450
Engine TypeTriton
Engine SizeV10

Specs for 28A
ChassisE450
Engine TypeTriton
Engine Size6.8 Liter V10

I wanted to not have too long an RV, but it seems the V10 is the way to go.

Three years ago I towed a Jeep TJ on a Uhaul trailer with a 10' Uhaul truck. The truck was filled to the max and had two adults and a large dog.