Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-10-2010, 10:34 PM   #1

Confused about tow dollies

I am relatively new to RVing. I have taken two trips in my Class A for a total of 7,000 miles. I have come to the conclusion that I need a tow car! I have a 97 Buick La Sabre that I wish to tow. If I tow on all four I will have to modify the car for about $1,000. I have decided on a tow dolly. I am looking at one now and the owner says it is a "swivel dolly" and a sharp turn can damage the cars doors?
What is he talking about? Are all tow dollys swivel?
Bill

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-10-2010, 11:25 PM   #2

Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
I have been using a Dolly for over 5 years and no damage yet. My unit does swivel, as I guess they all do. When you put the vehicle on the dolly, it's important to make sure the wheels are equally spaced in the center of the loading ramps. The vehicle and the ramp pivot as one unit, making it almost impossible to damage the car. You cannot "BACK UP" a dolly, maybe that's what he referred too. Good luck,
David G.