Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 09-10-2011, 05:59 AM   #1
Monaco Owners Club
Dingy towing on trailer

I am looking to tow a 17' trailer hauling my vehicle behind my 36' HR. Is this a good idea? Is this configuration acceptable to a new RV'er? I am new to RV, am excited/eager for our first trip.

US Army Retiree,
God Bless the USA !
rbc185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-10-2011, 06:35 AM   #2

Monaco Owners Club
Mostly depends on your needs / purpose.

By far, the easiest thing to do is to have or purchase a light vehicle that can be towed 4 down. I bought a 2000 wrangler for this, works great, and I like it so much it became my daily driver.

I'm also in the planning stages of a trip to yellowstone with a friend from vancouver, and our TOADS of choice will be our firstgen camaro convertibles. I'll need to beg, buy, or rent a trailer for this, can't really towbar the camaro.

You need to watch your weight. A car and a trailer can get heavy real quick. If your towing capacity is 5k, that is real easy to exceed.