Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 04:17 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
I am new to this toad thing,but it looks like a no brainer. I set everything up and pull but only one side locks.I had wife step on brake in jeep,on level ground,staight as an arrow. I bought used. It looks a little cocked and bent on that side that wont lock.Unless someone tell me I am doing something wrong,I am assuming this thing is junk.
__________________

__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-24-2006, 04:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
I am new to this toad thing,but it looks like a no brainer. I set everything up and pull but only one side locks.I had wife step on brake in jeep,on level ground,staight as an arrow. I bought used. It looks a little cocked and bent on that side that wont lock.Unless someone tell me I am doing something wrong,I am assuming this thing is junk.
__________________

__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 04:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,604
Roadmaster, the maker of your Falcon, is very good at repair a tow bar at no charge at rallies or RV shows. I would call them and ask when they'll be in your area.

You could also ship it back to Roadmaster.
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 08:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RUFINIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 434
Frankie,

Is the black button attached? It must be there or the towbar will not lock. If you need the Roadmaster will send them to you for a small price.

If it is not the button, then certainly contact Roadmaster. They are in Portland, OR and they will take care of you by fixing yours or exchanging yours for a rebuilt one. They are great.
__________________
Joe in Seattle; winter at Motorcoach CC, Indio, CA
2015 Essex 4503
2010 Honda CRV toad
RUFINIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 05:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Acker1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 307
Had the same problem with my Falcon. I ordered the repair kit and until it arrived, I would hold the button up while my wife pulled forward until it locked. Worked fine--just a pain til I fixed it.
DICK
__________________
2010 Phaeton QTH 40'
2017 GMC Sierra Crew Cab pickup 4X4
Recon, D,2/7, 1st Cav '65
Acker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 06:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
I called Jody in tech support and after talking he thought it best for me to buy new arm.So thats what I am going to do. Thanks
__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 04:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
I ordered new arm thru Roadmaster dealer rep len-rich rv parts They had the best price after shopping around.Easy trade out and I am towing,no prob.Thanks for the help..
__________________

__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dash ac wont work on max jdsr Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 06-11-2008 12:36 PM
Alternator issue wont go away... acampingwewillgo MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 12-19-2007 05:16 AM
Refrigerator wont cool on the road. Max1 Excel Owner's Forum 5 01-24-2007 09:00 PM
Wipers wont listen? Dougmyers Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 05-04-2006 10:59 AM
Mystery...slides wont come out, jack won't go down Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.