Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2012, 05:53 PM   #1
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
How to fix a Roadmaster BrakePro

I have an older Roadmaster BrakePro. I have read all problems that some have had burning out brakes. Like others have written the brakes activate some times when on rough roads, crossing RR tracks and bridge expansion joints. Nothing major but I have had to set mine to the least sensitive and the least pressure. But I wanted to have my toad brake most of the time when my coach brakes and not just in emergencies. And in an emergency the least amount of braking is less than desirable. I am not ready to invest in a new unit yet.

So I have engineered an upgrade. A little wire, some soldering, two relays and a plug to tie in to the brake lights. Now I can set any sensitivity and it will only come on if the brake light on the coach is active. I have diodes to my Jeep lights. It could have been easy with just one relay to close the circuit to the actuator but I didn't want to eliminate the breakaway switch. So I had to add in another relay that closes on ground from the breakaway feed. The first one closes on positive feed from one of the brake lights.

I added in a bypass switch so I can run the test, or use it in another toad in a factory setup.

Just ran it through the paces and I works perfect. Able to set the sensitivity to max and the pressure to mid range. It works better than I had hoped.

If anyone has a BrakePro and interested I would be happy to share my work. I had some spare relays on hand from a project that I did to run one of my old diesels on straight vegetable oil. I think I got them online for under $4. Total project should be under $10. I used spare parts so it was only my time invested.

__________________

__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2013, 02:32 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Hi I'm very interested in your break pro fix. Do you have pics or diagram?
__________________

__________________
Calipip irat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 2,239
On my MH the brake and turn signals share the wire. Did you use an OR ckt.?
I would like to see your schematic.
PM sent

Thanks
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ctcamper's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 887
Nice mod.
That is why I bought the 9700 model that doesn't use the inertia switch and does what you made yours do
__________________
2011 Allegro 32CA \ 2013 CRV toad
Previous:2007 Winnebago Class C
99' Winnebago Adventurer /Towables
ctcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:39 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAZ View Post
-snip-

So I have engineered an upgrade. A little wire, some soldering, two relays and a plug to tie in to the brake lights. Now I can set any sensitivity and it will only come on if the brake light on the coach is active. I have diodes to my Jeep lights. It could have been easy with just one relay to close the circuit to the actuator but I didn't want to eliminate the breakaway switch. So I had to add in another relay that closes on ground from the breakaway feed. The first one closes on positive feed from one of the brake lights.

I added in a bypass switch so I can run the test, or use it in another toad in a factory setup.

Just ran it through the paces and I works perfect. Able to set the sensitivity to max and the pressure to mid range. It works better than I had hoped.

If anyone has a BrakePro and interested I would be happy to share my work.
-snip-
sorry to revive this old thread but i'd like to do this same mod to my brake pro. it works but i'd rather have the above mentioned operation.

thanks for your time,
'monkey
__________________
WebMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 10:19 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Smile Maxwellhouse

TAZ, or anyone else who may have made this modification.

I am new to the Motorhome world and recently purchase a ACE Bunkhouse and put a towbar on my Chevy Traverse. I just purchased a used Roadmaster Brakepro from an aquaintance before I read this chain.

I would like to add the modification to it also before I burn up any brakes. Can I still get your info for making the relay modification which senses the brakelights?

Thanks so much!
__________________
Maxwellhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2016, 08:29 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
I just got an old Roadmaster BrakePro at a yard sale. I would like to know how to fix the problems that these old BreakePro have.
Thank you max19047
__________________
Max19047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 08:01 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Hi TAZ
I read your post about the modifications you made to the Roadmaster Brake Pro system to prevent brake damage. I would like to make the same modification to my system to prevent my brakes from burning up prematurely. If its not too much trouble, please send me the information / instruction you have for making the modifications. Also if you have the actual manual for the Roadmaster brake pro system, that would be really helpful as the one I recently purchased did not come with one.

Thanks
Tommy Boy
__________________
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 08:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,250
Here's a Brakemaster Pro manual.

To set my RPB system, I placed it in the passenger seat footwell and drove around to see how it reacted on the different settings. Much better to see and experience than just read and guess.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 11:08 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Boy View Post
Hi TAZ
I read your post about the modifications you made to the Roadmaster Brake Pro system to prevent brake damage. I would like to make the same modification to my system to prevent my brakes from burning up prematurely. If its not too much trouble, please send me the information / instruction you have for making the modifications. Also if you have the actual manual for the Roadmaster brake pro system, that would be really helpful as the one I recently purchased did not come with one.

Thanks
Tommy Boy

Tommy Boy,
This is Maxwellhouse,
I never got a response from TAZ back in 2015 and came up with my own modification for a Brake Pro I was buying from and acquaintance for $250.

I did the modification before I figured out the Brake Pro which I had, had problem holding pressure for more than about 20 seconds. I thought it might be a bad pump, and replaced it with a generic one, and it did not solve the problem. I finally called Roadmaster Tech support and told a tech that I replaced the pump, and checked for air leaks everywhere else. He said the pressure should hold for about 15 minutes.

He said the Big Magnameter, ( or something that sounds like that, it is that brass thing with the rotatable disc on the bottom) probably went bad, and there are NO replacement parts. He apologized for that. He said the Even Brake system is the one that came out to replace it ten years ago and has a different better part in it.

That being said, I put the Brake Pro back together to how it was originally and got my $250 back from the acquaintance I bought it from.

I ended up buying a brand new IVR2 system for piece of mind and am extremely happy with it.

Anyway, Is your Brake Pro holding it's pressure for about 15 minutes? If it is, you might want to proceed, otherwise get rid of it.

I can send you the modification I did, but I did realize later that my modification will not work in the Breakaway mode.

Also I poked around on the internet until I found where I could download the manual.
__________________
Maxwellhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 08:08 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Hi Maxwellhouse,
Thank you for getting back to me about TAZ. I am waiting for my Brake Pro to be delivered and will have it tested at Camping World as I have not a clue as to how to operate it. It sounds like you found the manual for it and if its not too much trouble would you mind sending me a copy or pointing me to the website where its located.

I will get back to you on the modification situation if mine tests good.

Much Appreciated
Tommy Boy
__________________
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 10:24 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
I just noticed that BFLIN181 gave the link to the BrakePro Manual.

It is at

http://www.roadmasterinc.com/pdf/85-2739.pdf
__________________
Maxwellhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 04:28 PM   #13
Member
 
JLWoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 68
Just modified mine was not hard at all, took a little bit to think how to wire so breakaway still worked.
__________________
JLWoodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 04:31 PM   #14
Member
 
JLWoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 68
Does anyone know what pressure the regulator inside the box should be set to ? I adjusted mine when I had it open and want to make sure i set it back to correct pressure.
Thx
__________________

__________________
JLWoodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.