Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-01-2016, 03:14 PM   #1

How to Pull a Toad

I've seen many, many threads from new owners asking for help in learning to drive a "Big Box". While I can always learn more, I think I "get it" for driving mine.

However, I'm about to start pulling a 4-dr, lifted Rubicon. While I have some experience pulling cargo trailers behind a Suburban, I have never pulled anything behind my MH.

I have never seen a thread about toading. Could you please give me tips or cautions about doing this? Particularly, what are things to watch when just starting out?

I have a full-time rear, hitch-looking camera that doesn't even show the rear of the Jeep's roof. I have side cameras, but they work only with the blinker.

If distances make a difference in your helpful suggestions, I use a hitch adapter due to the Jeep's height. That extra foot, plus my Blue Ox Aventa, makes my separation distance about 4 1/2'. The Jeep is 18 1/2'. My coach is 38'. So, I'm 61' end-to-end.

Jerry

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-01-2016, 03:21 PM   #2