Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-07-2013, 10:09 AM   #1

I almost lost my Jeep

Last weekend, we took a short trip up to Brown County Indiana for the weekend. Sunday morning as we were preparing to leave, I did my normal pre-trip check and walkaround and everything looked good.

It was raining pretty hard at the time, so I just dropped my speed down to around 62 and cruise on home, about 80 miles. When I got home, I parked on the street in front of the house and began unloading a few things from the motorhome and then turned my attention to unhooking the Jeep. I have a Roadmaster Falcon motorhome mounted towbar, a Brake Buddy and use a wireless Towmaster brake light.

I engaged the transfer case on the Jeep and went to the front to unhook from the motorhome and what I saw made me turn white as a sheet. The locking hitch pin that holds the towbar in the receiver hitch was missing. This was a locking unit with a key. The only thing left was the sleeve that the pin slides through and it was hanging half-way out of the hole. That was ALL that was holding the Jeep to the motorhome (besides the safety cables). While I was on my knees I said a prayer to God.

That laughable part (if there is one) is that while I was traveling down I-65 around Sellersburg I looked in my left mirror and saw a white Jeep Commander overtaking me on the left. For a split second my heart sank until I checked my monitor and saw MY white Jeep was still behind the motorhome.

Cricket SW3 Personal Transporter
topdownman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!