Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-29-2017, 12:03 AM   #1

I have several questions related to towing a car behind my RV

Hello All,
Newbie here with several questions about getting our 1995 Coachmen Santara Class A RV ready to tow a vehicle, and also questions about the things required to tow that vehicle behind the RV.
Any suggestions you can offer is greatly appreciated.
My husband and I are both disabled, and need to keep things as easy and maintenance free as possible. Being new to all of this we haven’t got a clue of exactly where to start, but here is what we are planning to do. Please let me know if I am understanding the things I’ve read here, and other places correctly, and if anything, lol or possibly everything is incorrect, and needs to be corrected, or changed.
OUR PLAN
Our plan is to purchase, on Tues 1/31/17, a 2002 Ford Taurus FWD to use as our tow vehicle.
If I read it correctly, according to the owner’s manual it will require a tow dolly to tow it, and can’t be towed flat. The other vehicles we own actually require a trailer, and are way too big and heavy to tow anyway, so we decide to get a lighter weight car to use as tow vehicle.