Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 07-08-2012, 04:28 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
I'm NO engineer, BUT!

WOW what a fubar! I had ordered a Demco baseplate for the 05 pt Cruiser and it arrived no problem. Well with the heat we've had the passed week I decided to wait till it cooled off a bit. Well today was the day. Dissasembled the front grill and facia and everything going along just peachie until it came time to slip the baseplate in place. Hold it up to the front of the car and what the heck???? Set it back on the floor and got out the trusty tape measure. Measured between the frames that it attaches to 62-5/8" end to end. Measured inside of baseplate which is supposed to slide over the frame 61-3/8". Couldn't have ordered the wrong plate as they only offer one for all the years that the car was made. And NO it's not a Turbo. Well I guess someone will be getting a call in the morning but this is really frustrating. Another thing that is bothersome is that if I had this in a shop that's charging $75 -100 / hour this could get quite expensive. Oh well thanks for letting me vent and I'll post what has to happen next.

Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!