Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-28-2017, 11:25 PM   #1

Last minute advice on my towed vehicle setup

I am new to RVing and tomorrow we leave for our first trip with my 2014 Wrangler attached to the MH.

My Sterling towbar does work for my setup however since I am not using a tow bracket (instead using tow adapters on my d ring mounts on my bumper). The problem with this is the tow bar's safety cables will not work in this situation. They had the hooks on one end and the little ball thing on the other (which I assume fits somewhere on a tow bracket).

Since I am not using a tow bracket we had to improvise at the last minute. I used bike lock cables with the strongest hooks I could get at Lowes to attach them with.

My question is is will this work you think? I am not sure if I have enough slack in the cables. I realize these are the safety cables and it's unlikely they'll ever get used (lets hope) but I don't want to have problems towing.

Also, my Jeep is about 2" higher than the mh + receiver adapter (Roadmaster' biggest was a 10" but I could use a 12" if they made one). Is this going to be a problem?

Thank you in advance for the advice!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4567.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	261.1 KB
ID:	163364   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4565.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	183.2 KB
ID:	163365  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4566.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	283.5 KB
ID:	163366  

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!