Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-14-2013, 09:11 PM   #1

Loading car onto tow dolly in driveway

I have a 31' MH, an Eze-Tow dolly, and a smart car. I want to be able to have everything loaded and hooked up the night before for an early morning departure. The problem is, if my MH is pulled far enough forward to leave room behind for the dolly & car, then it's nose down in the driveway. This raises the hitch, which lowers the back of the dolly. Loading could still be accomplished without a problem, though, especially since the loading ramps are detached. However, I'm wondering what effect it might have on the car/tie-down straps once I've departed the driveway & everything is on level ground again. I'm not an engineer or a mechanic, but my thought is that with the front wheels strapped down on the dolly, and the tongue of the dolly raised, as the MH returns to level ground, the car would just basically rotate on the front axle, without causing any stress on the chassis or loosening the straps, etc. Does that make sense? Any thoughts? Am I missing something, or is this how it would work? I appreciate your thoughts! I just don't want to do anything that might cause undue stress and damage the chassis.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!