Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 08-28-2015, 10:15 PM   #1

New Jeep Rubicon: to tow or trailer?

Newbie here, have a new Jeep Rubicon we want to take with us. The concern I have, as I see so many tow 4 down, is aren't you wearing tires, wheel bearings, wear in tranny, differential, etc? I'm considering towing on a 16' aluminum trailer rated at 7k and not putting any wear on my new Jeep.
What u say????

Jesus is Lord! Coming back soon.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-28-2015, 10:31 PM   #2

Monaco Owners Club
Up to you, it's your Jeep....

but most buy the Jeep TO tow since it is so easy to do !

It is not much wear and tear if you think about it, it's just free-wheeling back there and after all, it's just a car !!!

Old 08-28-2015, 10:38 PM   #3

Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
I flat tow my jeep. Have done so many thousands of miles on this and a previous Jeep. No problems from towing wear and tear.

I would not want to mess with handling a trailer. Four down is so easy to connect/disconnect.
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.