Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2015, 07:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,085
Pressure Switch for Remco Lube Pump?

Does anyone know a 'standard' part number for the Remco Lube Pump Pressure Switch?

The switch in my Remco Lube Pump kit (for an '06 Dodge Grand Caravan) leaks badly, and I need to replace it. Can't find a part number anywhere on it or in the Remco literature (except for their 40010011), and the auto-parts places I asked can't find a cross-reference. I'm sure it's a standard switch made by the zillions for cars, just gotta know which one.

Right now, I have a plug inserted, but that means I have no way of knowing if the pump is working or I gotta run the engine while driving to keep the fluid moving.

We're on the road and have a schedule to meet. Naturally, things like this never fail when convenient (or on a weekday).

Help?


I evidently don't know how to do a valid SEARCH function. Tried to search for my issue, and got what seems like just about everything else under the sun. So I'm trying it this way.....
__________________

__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-25-2015, 11:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
I'm going to tag along to collect the number , in case I ever need it.
I'll have a look at mine , when I finish my breakfast, just in case I can figure an automotive application.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,681
Is there anyway you could post a picture of the switch, someone may be able to recognize a replacement. It should be something like a simple off/on oil pressure switch.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllkrob View Post
Is there anyway you could post a picture of the switch, someone may be able to recognize a replacement. It should be something like a simple off/on oil pressure switch.
From the sounds of Rusty's post he may be on the road, I'm fairly sure mine will be the same , so I'll dig out my camera.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 11:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,085
Sorry for the delay, guys. Had to find a place to stop with usable wifi.

Here's a couple pics of the sensor. You should be able to see the tab with "C" stamped next to it, and another tab with "NO" stamp. There's also a "NC" stamping (on the other side, and hidden in the pics)but no tab for it.

I wonder if they have different pressure ratings as to when they are supposed to open/close? Probably not, since there's no number to describe which one would be which in the field.

I'm sure I can call the mfgr next week, but then I'll have to wait-out shipping time for them to send one.

Any help is appreciated in the meantime.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0238.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	166.3 KB
ID:	101163   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0239.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	168.2 KB
ID:	101164  

__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 12:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 405
Take it to your nearest auto parts store and have them match it up to something that will work.

Tim
__________________
2002 Holiday Rambler 30RKD
2000 F250 diesel extended cab short bed
2014 Demco Autoslide 18K
Timay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,085
Would that I could. Being on the road in out-of-the-way places, and with a travel deadline, makes it kinda tough to go into a parts-place and spend an hour or so (like I did earlier this week) with a salesperson going: "Nope, that's not it. Not that one, either..."
Was hoping someone knows specifically what it is.
__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 04:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Rusty, the problem is the two wire hook up , any automotive that I can remember , have only one ; because they ground out through the engine ; because the switch in the Remco system is mounted in the flex lines to the trans cooler , it must be grounded though the second wire for the alarm to operate. I'll have a look at my installation instructions and see if I can figure a work around.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 06:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,085
Yeah, that was my conclusion too , Skip426. I'd need to ground to that junction-block to make work with all of the sensors I could find, and don't see a real good way to do it.
Just hoping I can get ahold of Remco first thing Monday and they can point me towards a local-sourced switch (with 2 leads). I got to know the folks at the local Advance-Auto house real good today, they even let me go back in the stacks and open all the boxes . No joy, tho. Advance-Auto said that if I could get them the number, they can get me the switch the next day. Hopefully that will happen.



Now on to my favorite rant... why do the mfgrs come up with so many different ways to do the same $#@^& thing???? You need a pressure switch? 10mm thread? ok, design one! 9mm thread? Wait, re-bore the hole to 10mm because THEY ALREADY GOT ONE!! And so on. Sheesh!
Just like clothes... make small, medium and large. Cadillac? Large alternator. Chevette? Small alternator. Not 27 different ones, depending on exterior color or CD/Sirius radio. An alternator is an alternator, big medium or little. Same with a dumb oil pressure switch, dang it!

Ok, no more coffee til I get this solved.
__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 11:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Every engineer , has to re-invent the wheel , or they figure they wouldn't have a job.
Happened every 5 years like clock work when I worked at Chrysler, new batch of engineers come in and throw out everything that works just fine and design there own ...., then spend the next 4 years straightening out there mistakes.
Good luck with your search and if you do manage a cross reference , please post it.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 08:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,085
Good news/Bad news...

The switch is a NAPA (Balkamp) BK 7011575 , but it's out of stock at my nearest store . Cost is under $30. Remco has 'em for $49 plus shipping.

The NAPA version has to have the sense-pressure turned down to 3psi, which means ya gotta take an Allen wrench and turn the little screw CCW about 1/2 turn. The Remco one comes already set to 3psi.

Hope this helps someone else next time.
__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,085
Just wanted to give a great big to the Remco folks.

As noted above, couldn't find the switch locally (NAPA said they could: "...probably get it here in a few days or so, maybe, if they could find one somewhere...") so I went with Remco directly. Only to find out later in the day (Monday) that they didn't have any spares on the shelf - but would pull one off an already-assembled system and send it to me asap . And it got here yesterday (Thursday)

Not that I was kinda hoping I'd have to be 'stranded' here in the beautiful Florida Keys for the next ... oh, maybe 3-4 weeks ... but I do have a commitment and needed to get back on the road.

Anyways, I just wanted to close the loop, and acknowledge the Remco people for going that extra mile.

Thanks Remco!
__________________
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 06:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
D Lindy's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,635
FWI the lettering NO means Normally Open and NC means Normally Closed. Depending on which wire spade is used as to if the switch is NO or NC use.
__________________

__________________
2012 Journey 40U (Our Incredible Journey)
2008 Dodge Dakota(TOAD) 2005 Honda Shadow in TOAD
AF-1 braking system
D Lindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discrepency on oil pressure switch IASM Country Coach Owners Forum 2 01-08-2015 11:26 AM
Water Pump Switch Locations? coachmanrvr Entegra Owner's Forum 14 09-12-2014 06:12 PM
Air brake pressure switch Parkerco Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 5 08-22-2014 07:27 PM
Water pump pressure Alan Wilson Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 07-01-2014 10:21 AM
3 way water pump switch wiring jrburch1946 Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 02-11-2014 07:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.