Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 01-22-2011, 09:57 AM   #1

Proportional Braking for Toad

I've been towing for almost 10 years now, with a Roadmaster system. Since I have changed tow vehicles about 4 times now, I have used it several types of vehicles. The latest is a jeep wrangler unlimited, which I haven't set up yet. What is nagging at me is that the Roadmaster system advertises that it is a truly proportional braking system, but as I have used it over the years, it clearly doesn't engage when braking the motorhome softly. I have spoken to the technicians who have installed the system for me and also the folks at Roadmaster. They say that this is the way it is supposed to function. To me that isn't a truly porportional braking system. Before I reinstall my roadmaster system, I wanted to hear what some others have to say on this issue and anything anyone may have to say about other braking systems. My idea of proportional, is that the Toad brakes each and every time that I step on the motorhome brake. If I step softly, the Toad brakes softly. If I step hard on the motorhome brake, the Toad brakes should be applied hard. What can anyone out there share on this issue, along with recommendations on other types of systems. Thank You

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!