Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2013, 07:24 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 942
Reading Jeep Liberty Toad TPMS data from the MH driver's seat?

I noticed that my Toad has a TPMS system. It's a 2012 Jeep Liberty. Has anyone figured out how to read the tire pressure on this Toad at the driver's seat in the motor home? Heck, I don't know what system is in the Toad, let alone how to read it from the MH. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2004 Tiffin Allegro 27.5 ft. P32 18,000 lb GVW. 8.1 liter. Workhorse chassis built May 2002. 21,000 miles. 2012 Jeep Liberty Toad. RVi2 brake unit.
Full.Monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-08-2013, 07:48 AM   #2
Member
 
amxpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 61
Is it the factory TPMS in the Jeep? If so, it's only designed to turn on a warning light if tire pressure drops to a specific level. It doesn't display the pressures unless you hook in to the DLC 3 connector under the dash with a reader or scan tool.
__________________

__________________
amxpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by amxpress View Post
Is it the factory TPMS in the Jeep? If so, it's only designed to turn on a warning light if tire pressure drops to a specific level. It doesn't display the pressures unless you hook in to the DLC 3 connector under the dash with a reader or scan tool.
I can read all four tire pressures on the odometer display using the menu.
__________________
2004 Tiffin Allegro 27.5 ft. P32 18,000 lb GVW. 8.1 liter. Workhorse chassis built May 2002. 21,000 miles. 2012 Jeep Liberty Toad. RVi2 brake unit.
Full.Monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by amxpress View Post
Is it the factory TPMS in the Jeep? If so, it's only designed to turn on a warning light if tire pressure drops to a specific level. It doesn't display the pressures unless you hook in to the DLC 3 connector under the dash with a reader or scan tool.
That's the way the Wrangler worked, but the 2012 Liberty has full readouts on the dash display.

OP - no, I don't know any way to do that. We added sensors to the tires that work with the SmarTire system in the coach. So we have both systems. And I have a secondary display I can put in the Jeep just to see those four. Haven't used it, since the OEM sensors are still installed.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 03:14 PM   #5
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,203
I recently placed tires on the Saturn Vue and while in Discount Tires I saw an add for TPMS. They use the "DILL" (sp) TPMS system and they have it for RV's and 10 tires.

I'm surprised I have not seen it talked about anywhere. Seems like a lot of DT people have it. They are in inside the tire system.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
RVM14
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:42 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 942
I miss-spoke. The Menu appears on the speedometer, not the odometer and is activated by the menu button on the left side of the steering wheel. You have to press it a few times until the 4 tire pressures appear.
I have never heard of the Dill system. That might be worthy of some additional research. It would be nice to buy a compatible TPMS system that would read the Toad tire pressures from inside the MH as well as the tire pressures of the MH itself. That way, you wouldn't have to have two TPMS systems on the Toad.
__________________

__________________
2004 Tiffin Allegro 27.5 ft. P32 18,000 lb GVW. 8.1 liter. Workhorse chassis built May 2002. 21,000 miles. 2012 Jeep Liberty Toad. RVi2 brake unit.
Full.Monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
toad



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.