Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 08-13-2014, 02:08 PM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
Readybrake "Brake On" Light Necessary?

I'm new to the motor home world, and after reading a lot about tow systems here bought a ReadyBrute Elite. It came with a red light that is supposed to be mounted in the dash to indicate when the brake is on. It plugs into the hitch, not the toad's brake lights, so I wonder about the value of that information.

I suppose that it would tell me if the hitch is jammed in either brake on or brake off, but it seems to be a pretty simple system and I wouldn't think it would be a big concern. From what I've read it is much more likely for the cable inside the car to hang up or break, and the light doesn't help in those circumstances.

I would love to hear opinions about whether installing this indicator is worth the expense (I would have my favorite shop do the work).

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-13-2014, 02:26 PM   #2

Newmar Owners Club
I installed this part myself and it was very easy to do. It lets me know the braking system is working correctly.