Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-20-2015, 11:46 AM   #1

Really need to leave key in ignition on 2006 Jeep Wrangler?

I am about ready to go on my 1st trip where I will be towing my 2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited behind my 2002 Monaco La Palma, and I have a quick question... I have a Roadmaster Falcon 2 and Roadmaster Invisibrake installed. The guy who installed it said that I need to leave the Jeep key in the 1st key position as I tow the Jeep down the road. As far as I know, the only reason to do this is so that the steering wheel won't lock and cause my tires to fry as I pull them down the road locked in a diagonal direction. However, I was reading the Jeep owners manual and it said that locking steering wheels were only installed on 2006 Jeep Wranglers that have the MANUAL transmission--I have an automatic. So... is it okay to tow my Jeep w/out the key in the ignition? Might be a stupid newbie question, but this whole thing is new to me... Thanks in advance. -Jonathan
Time2Retire is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!