Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-30-2010, 08:58 AM   #1

Roadmaster Even Brake

I have been using this device for five years now and have had it replaced three times. The current unit was installed at RoadMaster in October 2007 and has worked fine since that time. The toad is a 2001 CR-V. This vehicle has the relay added that prevents the operation of the EvenBrake from lighting the brake lights. Only the MH should do that. I also have a toad battery charge limiter that lets the MH charge the toad battery when driving down the road.
Lately, the EvenBrake has developed a bad habit that I can not seem to isolate. When you follow the startup procedure, it tells you to connect the ICX cord and then the 12volt power source. The unit will then pump up the air and when it is ready, the TEST lamp will alternate green/red. You can then perform the go/nogo test. In this case, when I follow that sequence, after I connect the 12volt power, the unit just sits there and does not pump up. I found out that if I removed the ICX cord from the transmitter module and then plugged it back in, the pump would start and then everything worked normally.