Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
RudyD's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 197
Rvi Brake - signal

I have a new rvi brake - wondering if anybody has experienced this issue? I have a 45' mh and have tried the original antenna, 2nd antenna and now a new ultrapowerful antenna test antenna from rvi on the Receiver

My receiver in the MH gets no info from the tow. Nothing - I'm not sure if its braking or not Rvi says the distance is a problem to register the activity - I have to assume the rvi break is doing its job but with a 50000 MH and 4500 tow car my MH wins all the time for breaking. If I hit Test on the Receiver nothing happens.

I'll be going back to rvi again to see if there is some sort of way to hard wire this in with perhaps a receiver in the rear of the coach and run a hard wire to the front
I've also tried to plug in the receivor in a 12v outlet mid coach and same thing.

Anyone else have this issue?
__________________

__________________
Rudy
2013 Tiffin Zephyr LZ-ver C towing 2016 Caddy Escalade
RudyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2013, 08:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
slapfoot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
I have a 36 ft. dp and was having problems similar to yours. I also got a second antenna that draped over the rear view mirror from RVI and got the same results. I took my receiver out of the 12 volt outlet which was in the center of my dash and using a 12 volt extension cord just set it on the dash next to the driver's window and all has been working fine since. Makes me wonder if the signal just can't get through the engine, bed, closet, bathroom, etc.
__________________

__________________
slapfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,085
My signal was intermittent at the start so I got the additional antenna for the Toad. That helped a bunch but it still looses the signal once in a while.

Have you tried plugging the remote into the Toad's dash and seeing if it connects? I know the remote can loose it's link and there are instructions to re-link it.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer
Dennis_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RudyD's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 197
resynching

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_K View Post
My signal was intermittent at the start so I got the additional antenna for the Toad. That helped a bunch but it still looses the signal once in a while.

Have you tried plugging the remote into the Toad's dash and seeing if it connects? I know the remote can loose it's link and there are instructions to re-link it.
This is a great idea - I'll try it out and let you know the outcome -
__________________
Rudy
2013 Tiffin Zephyr LZ-ver C towing 2016 Caddy Escalade
RudyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:03 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 20
Are you using the original RVI brake system or the new version- RVIbrake2? I had the same communication problem but not very often so I did not address it. I did just sent my original back for the upgrade program they have going on now.
__________________
Dennis
2006 Monaco Diplomat 40DST
2012 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Dennit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
toneumanns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 792
Mine is intermittent also. I put the antenna wire under the toad windshield wiper which helped a little.
__________________
2011 Itasca Suncruiser, Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
MSgt retired USAF 1988, AA retired 2005
toneumanns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 12:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
RudyD's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennit View Post
Are you using the original RVI brake system or the new version- RVIbrake2? I had the same communication problem but not very often so I did not address it. I did just sent my original back for the upgrade program they have going on now.
i didnt know there were two versions - i just got my system a few months ago so I'd assume its the latest version. I'll check -
__________________
Rudy
2013 Tiffin Zephyr LZ-ver C towing 2016 Caddy Escalade
RudyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:28 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 20
I just got my updated one in today, the new version is black. Both the brake unit and dash controller are a bit smaller.
__________________
Dennis
2006 Monaco Diplomat 40DST
2012 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Dennit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
RudyD's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 197
rvi2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennit View Post
I just got my updated one in today, the new version is black. Both the brake unit and dash controller are a bit smaller.
I called rvi brake and spoke Jarret today - Quite helpful. We're going to walk through the resynchonizing process Friday - will advise if that works. Will put the brake and sensor next to each other and test 'em out as suggested earlier.

He told me the biggest difference on the rvi2 is it will be able to monitor the tow vehicle tire pressure. the sensors for tow vehicle will be available shortly. They are a bit smaller as well and black. Color doesnt make a difference to me but the smaller size of the receiver is because it takes up a lot of geography over my dual 12 volt outlets on the dash. There's a $100 upgrade cost for the 2nd version. Sensors are in addition.
__________________
Rudy
2013 Tiffin Zephyr LZ-ver C towing 2016 Caddy Escalade
RudyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:48 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 20
You also start a new 3 year warranty.
__________________
Dennis
2006 Monaco Diplomat 40DST
2012 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Dennit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:13 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
RudyD's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 197
i tested the RVi brake with the receiver plugged into my toad 12 volt outlet and it all works fine - they are synchronized fine.

Test braking operated fine and i changed the settings with the receiver unit and the rvi braking unit complied. So now have to see what other options there are for me (if any). Perhaps a signal repeater or the like -
__________________
Rudy
2013 Tiffin Zephyr LZ-ver C towing 2016 Caddy Escalade
RudyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:57 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
slapfoot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
RVI Brake Communication

Like many have posted, I have had problems with lost communication with the toad. RVI Brake sent me the antenna to drape over the rear view mirror. Actually I drape it over the driver side sun visor. The communication problem persisted. I obtained another of the antenna's with the long wire connection and attached it to the receiver in the mh and hung it next to the driver side window. So far, I have had constant communication. Possibly, I have solved my lost communication problem.
__________________
slapfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
bearaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 288
Just returned my RVI Brake 2 to the company for a loose antenna connection on the main unit. Dan Decker was exceptional in emailing me a UPS sticker for the return. He told me that while the connector is heavily soldiered, they have had some come loose causing intermittent communication problems. The newer units have their connections soldiered then epoxied. I noticed when I first got my unit that once in awhile it would loose communication for instant. I just thought the antenna had fallen down or something. One time I went to connect the antenna and the connector was loose, wiggling around inside the main unit.
__________________

__________________
bearaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.