Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2009, 08:39 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
I am a little curious why on the first model it was a 30 amp fuse and the second is a 2 amp. Any ideas???
On the 08 HHR it is also the 2 AMP.
Pulling that fuse also disables the brake lights.
__________________

__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-03-2009, 08:41 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Waynesboro,PA USA
Posts: 644
Update DH put a toggle switch on the 2 amp fuse.
__________________

__________________
Beabop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:08 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Ol'Joe's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Va Bch, VA / Crystal River, FL
Posts: 196
Wow,

I'd forgotten I started this thread last year. I did finally make my own switch. As several others offered, I shorted out a two amp fuse, attached a small pair of wires (probably 12 / 14 ga.) and a small spst switch and mounted it high up on the center console so it wouldn't get bumped. Total time expended was probably 25 minutes. Did most of the preps at the office one day. (it was slow day!) It's worked fine ever since and makes the for the easiest Toad hookup I've had yet. Good roads to Ya
__________________
Ol'Joe, Anne and Kona "Jake"
'10 Phaeton 40QTH / '08 Saturn Vue
Va Bch, VA / Crystal River, FL (or someplace else)
Ol'Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:36 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
motohomer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 339
We just did our 09 vue. By far the easiest way is to use 2 "add a fuse" taps. By plugging the two together you will have 2 good wires to connect your switch. Just be carefull with the orientation & fuse placement. Double check it with an ohmmeter.

Another note: The 08+ vues have a useless brake light switch, it loses power after 10 minutes. If you need a switch for running a brake signal wire back to the coach, roadmaster has a kit for a seperate switch and bracket (~ $35). Its not perfect, but it works.
__________________
Bill & Dar - 2012 Journey 40U
STP, Bilsteins, Ready Brute pulling a 2013 Avalanche Z71
motohomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 12:32 PM   #19
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,304
Blog Entries: 70
How about this gizmo. i just got one!



Remove the 2A fuse, plug it into the adaptor harness, plug the harness into the mini socket in the panel. Drill one 3/4" hole, mount the switch .. good to go!
__________________
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 05:47 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriVer View Post
How about this gizmo. i just got one!



Remove the 3A fuse, plug it into the adaptor harness, plug the harness into the mini socket in the panel. Drill one 3/4" hole, mount the switch .. good to go!
Did you mean 30A fuse? Did you make or buy this?
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:55 AM   #21
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,304
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrschwarz View Post
Did you mean 30A fuse? Did you make or buy this?
mrschwarz, No sir. All that 2008 Saturn Vue owners need to pull is a 2A Ignition Switch fuse. The fuse is located in the left foot well on the inside of the console kick panel behind a removable panel.

The name of this product is called RVing Fuse Switch and it's available from RV-PartsPlus.com.

I actually have to wait until I get back home to install the harness because that's where my 3/4" hole saw & arbor is located.
__________________
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 06:56 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
According to them, the current draw is minimal when towing and there is really no need for me to pull the 30 amp fuse on my 07 Vue. Has anyone towed for 7 hours without pulling the fuse?
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 11:51 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Max Hubrich's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pikeville, NC
Posts: 1,724
I use this battery safety disconnect switch. It has other advantages -- such as long term storage. If you order one make sure of the post connections, ie: top or side mount.
__________________
Max H,
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire, 37', 3778, W-22, 8.1 Vortac, Ultra Power upgrade, CAI (cold air intake), Taylor wires, colder plugs, Koni shocks.
Max Hubrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 01:27 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Fastcar's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrschwarz View Post
Did you mean 30A fuse? Did you make or buy this?
The company shown does not make one for 30A. I called them to inquire, no joy.
__________________

__________________
Fastcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P32 IGNITION SWITCH TandW Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 11 10-30-2007 05:46 PM
40 amp IGNITION fuse blows when key is in on positio fossil MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 06-17-2007 02:39 PM
Ignition Switch cdroggen Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 6 12-30-2006 10:01 AM
2005 saturn vue 30 amp fuse 20champ1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 06-22-2005 03:32 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.