Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2014, 09:01 AM   #1
Member
 
jastinjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 75
Question Saturn Vue Toad

I have 06 sature vue as my toad. To pull the car I must remove a 30a fuse for the int. from fuse block under the hood. I have heard that there is a way to add a switch that you can turn it off and on from the car. Has anyone done this before? I have tried to locate a 30a inline fuse holder without much luck. Just need some help on figuring this out please. Thanks
__________________

__________________
jastinjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2014, 09:53 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
I put together the 30 amp fuse bypass switch for my 06 Saturn Vue. There is also a couple of companies that have pre-made kits to install which will do the same thing. Pricey but work.

I purchased an in-line fuse and switch both rated to handle 30 amps at one of the big box auto supply stores along with proper gauge wire.

I mounted the switch on the very left of the dash bottom just above the hood release.

The only modification needed was to cut a notch in the fuse box cover large enough to allow for the wires to run from the box to the fire wall of the car.

I attached crimp-on spade lugs to insert into the opening where the fuse had been seated.

Works like a champ!

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 12:42 PM   #3
Member
 
jastinjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 75
When I went to a auto parts store for a inline fuse holder they said they needed to order one. When I went to pick it up this thing was large. The wire was as big as my little finger. It just didn't look right. I tried to explain what I was doing and what I needed. They said sorry they weren't that up on electrical stuff and couldn't help. So can you help? Part name or numbers, pictures or anything to help. Thanks.
__________________
jastinjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 01:59 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Got to your local NAPA Auto Store and ask for these products.

NAPA AUTO PARTS

OR

NAPA AUTO PARTS

PLUS

NAPA AUTO PARTS

Make sure the toggle switch is rated for 30 amp.

Buy a bezel to hold the toggle switch.

Buy wire to handle the 30 amps.

Buy a couple of crimp-on 10 gauge spade lugs to insert where the 30 amp fuse is now seated.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 07:22 PM   #5
Member
 
jastinjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 75
supplies list

There appears to be 2 in-line fuse holder you have listed from napa store. Do I need both or is one better then the other? Again thanks for the info.
__________________
jastinjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 07:23 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
You only need one, your choice.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
toad



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 Saturn Vue Flat Towing Questions jrizz1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 05-05-2014 05:34 PM
Where to install AF1 operating unit in Saturn Vue ChasA Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 04-29-2014 03:25 PM
Flat Tow Saturn Vue, What to expect jrizz1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 04-28-2014 07:03 PM
2008 Saturn Vue Affinityfan Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 8 02-27-2014 05:09 PM
Some Thoughts On Auxiliary Toad Brakes wil01 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 02-16-2014 01:01 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.