Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 11-23-2017, 02:06 PM   #1

Thoughts on overall length of hitch/towbar combo

I've finished gathering and installing all the components to tow our mini-cooper with our Itasca Reyo. To get the tow bar level I had to use a 6" drop receiver that incidentally extends the attachment point of my Falcon 2 tow bar by a foot.

I've got many years experience towing trailers of all sorts and sizes, including tractor trailer rigs and for the most part, long trailer tongues are beneficial, especially when it comes to backing. In fact on one motorcycle trailer, I cut and extended the tongue which greatly improved things.

But I've done very little flat towing of vehicles and wonder are there any drawbacks to a longer towing configuration?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-23-2017, 04:08 PM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90

Monaco Owners Club
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Can't answer your question but just wanted to say hello! Keep her between the ditches!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD